21 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

PlasticGroove - Pointless Single Review

10 Apr 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

The semi-anonymous masked men in black are back with a new track, though in many ways PlasticGroove never left the scene. Junky Monkey is still doing the rounds, currently sitting at number 40 on the Audience.co.nz’s daily chart.

Pointless, the third single, is another upbeat eighties-esque pop-rock party track that sounds like a mating of Pet Shop Boys and Edwyn Collins.

Musically Pointless is similar to PlasticGroove’s earlier single Strange Lands Fall and tonally similar to Junky Monkey.  Despite the title, the song is rather pointed at someone or something in particular, that embodies the meaning of the word.

This one single at a time approach is working well for PlasticGroove. It allows time to appreciate everything about an individual track at your own pace, as opposed to digesting an entire album at once. Only four tracks through, there comes the promise of more.

 

About PlasticGroove

PlasticGroove are a retro futurist Kiwi band from Wellington, New Zealand. A multi instrumentalist attack combines 80's new wave and modern rock influences into a toe tapping, head banging, butt shaking frenzy.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for PlasticGroove

Releases

Feel
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem