21 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Rules Of Addiction - World Made Of Lies Album Review

10 Apr 2013 // A review by Terry McIntosh

Rules of Addiction come from Wellington and Queenstown. They have been recording and touring since 2011. In that time they have recorded an EP, a full album and covered the country with their live shows.

World Made Of Lies is their first full length and kicks off full tilt. Two bands came to me as I listened to the first track. First Anthrax with the riffing and guitar sound and then Avenged Sevenfold when the vocals kick in. The Avenged Sevenfold tag comes back into play after several listens and listening to the guitar work.

By the third song Obey we start to see a little more punk influence but it still keeps some of the hard rock and thrash elements. Politicians is a nice little punky anthem which I’m sure gets the crowds going at the live shows. These guys are very angry at the world and the lies it tells them. Most of their anger seems to be sent at religion, technology and politics.

This album will attract fans of Avenged Sevenfold and fans of slightly punky hard rock music. Although at times it gives the impression it's gonna be heavier with some nice big thrash guitar sounds it never quite makes it there and keeps itself in the hard rock/heavy metal category. False Perception Of Freedom is a good example of this almost breaking into Metallica region where the singer also attempts to pull off a metal scream. Have a listen to Razorwyre guys who are one step up from you guys on that one.

All and all not a bad album but can’t wait till they put in a bit more original influence as they spend too much time sounding like other bands. They are good musicians and the album has great production. New Zealand has really stepped up on that one. No more are we putting out lo-fi albums with poor production we are now putting New Zealand music on the map with albums at the same standard and sometimes even better than international counterparts. This is a shining example of that. Keep it up Rules of Addiction and keep it up NZ music because we are an extremely talented bunch.

World Made Of Lies
View Track Listing
 

About Rules Of Addiction

Since October 2011, Rock, Metal, Punk act "Rules Of Addiction" have released a Self-Titled EP, toured the entire length of New Zealand and have now more recently unleashed their full length album "World Made Of Lies".

Recorded and produced at ROA Dungeon and KH Studios Queenstown NZ and mixed in mastered at HellFire Studios in the UK. The album is made up of 12 in-your-face tracks of Hard Rock, Metal, Thrash and Punk. The sound is undeniably Rules Of Addiction, as they hold their own unique and distinct style throughout the album. Each song holds a view on the current state of the world and the people who create its demise. This theme is encaptured by every band mates input within each song.

The first single off the new album "Politicians" does not hold back on the bands views of the state of leadership, in both their own country and worldwide.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Rules Of Addiction

Releases

World Made Of Lies
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Rules Of Addiction
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Terry McIntosh

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by Terry McIntosh
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by Terry McIntosh
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and His Motley Crew - Single Review: The Little Things
25 Aug 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
I first came across Captain Festus McBoyle when he appeared on a television show performing a track Cheeky Little Monkey. Having enjoyed that track immensely, I had a little hunt and came across many other tracks from this hugely talented man.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
View All Articles By Terry McIntosh

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem