27 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Maree Sheehan - Chasing The Light Album Review

04 Mar 2013 // A review by Dilemma

In the 1990's Maree Sheehan helped pave the way for women in the New Zealand music industry by bringing homegrown dance-pop to the foreground. Sheehan had a unique style, which blended dance-pop with traditional Maori instrumentals, hip-hop and RnB which broke new musical ground. But as innovative as it was, it was hard to break past the barriers of New Zealand Music especially as a female musician. Over 10 years on and that innovation and hybrid of music is now embraced and encouraged in our NZ music industry and the benefits of perseverence have paid off for Maree who releases her new album Chasing the Light.

Chasing The Light, showcases Sheehan's rich vocals and the depth of her songwriting experience. The album opens with In The Light which is a piano driven sweet and soulfilled ballad. Maree has an ability to create perfectly balanced harmonies and this is repeated with another piano beauty later as the third track How Do I Say Goodbye. The second track peps up a little bit adding in some brass and drums in Without You, she is able to add happiness to songs about love and love lost, which is a rare talent. Maree is also able cross genres with ease and stability as heard in Rock With Me and Do I Wish which transforms the traditional sound of reggae into a more summery fun version of reggae. Rock With Me is very popular on the charts right now, and rightly so, it’s a very catchy track. Capping off a well-constructed and musically versatile album is Watching Me Fall which musically bares all, raw lyrics and vocals paired only with a guitar to add rhythm, stunning.

Great album, even after a decade long hiatus we are glad Maree Sheehan is back to making music!

Chasing The Light
View Track Listing
 

About Maree Sheehan

Maree Sheehan helped pave the way for women in the New Zealand music industry in the 1990s by breaking the singer-songwriter mould and bringing homegrown dance-pop to the foreground. Now after a decade-long hiatus, she is poised to step back into the spotlight with a stunning new 10-track album.

The Christchurch born, but now Auckland-based, artist was eight when she took up piano; by 14 she’d written her very first song.

“Mum and her sisters had a trio and they used to play little gigs. So there was lots of singing in my childhood. You know, the classic guitar-party scenario. I was brought up with all those old sing-a-long songs.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Maree Sheehan

Releases

Chasing The Light
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Dilemma

Janine and the Mixtape - EP Review: XX
22 Jun 2015 // by Dilemma
2013 was a big year, Lorde released her first EP but she wasn’t our only Singer/Songwriter that got international acclaim that year, there was also Janine Foster otherwise known as Janine and The Mixtape. Described as an electrifying performer that has developed her own unique combination of pop, indie, R&B, and hip hop.
Read More...
Tali - Album Review: Wolves
28 May 2015 // by Dilemma
Tali AKA Natalia Sheppard is pretty impressive, she paired up with Roni Size to release Lyric on my Lip which smashed the charts in 2002, became the first female MC to release an album in 2004 over 10 years ago. She has won the Best Female DNB MC award a few times (3) and has just released her new album Wolves, which she describes as “electronic soul and gangsta jazz"!
Read More...
Khemikal - Justice EP Review
06 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Silos feat. Nel Amore have released their debut EP Justice, 5 tracks with thumping base lines, some repetitive hooks and a brit-chick that raps and sings.
Read More...
Emily Edrosa EP Review
05 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Emily Edrosa is Emily Littler, member of Street Chant – an Auckland trio that has played since 2007 and won the inaugural Critics Choice at the 2010 NZ Music Awards. Emily however, has been putting out some new solo stuff as Emily Edrosa, which is the second effort after Body/Christ released in 2013.
Read More...
PNC - The Codes Album Review
24 Jul 2014 // by Dilemma
PNC AKA Sam Hansen released his fifth album less than a month ago and it’s already smashing sales and tearing up the NZ charts. The album titled The Codes is our newest urban success and it seems that PNC has found his stride with his latest offering.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - Save My Soul EP Review
16 May 2014 // by Dilemma
New from Jayson Norris is the Save My Soul EP as part of NZ Music Month. If you are a fan of Kora style rock or Tiki Taane melodies then you will love this five-song EP, cleverly incorporating roots and the groove of mainstream guitar rock’n’soul to blur genres.
Read More...
Estère - Estere Album Review
10 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Released as a free download via Bandcamp the debut EP from Wellington singer/songwriter/beatmaker/producer Estere is definitely unique in the NZ music scene. Self-described as “just a girl with an MPC” Estere works her equipment and the product is individualistic, raw and worthy of a listen this NZ Music Month.
Read More...
Ill Semantics - You Got It Feat. Scribe and K.One Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
The Ill Semantic’s are back for 2014 and while it's been over 20 years since they formed they still have the ability to make really good, current hip hop music. Ill Semantics are getting ready to drop their third album and have delivered the first single titled You Got It feat.
Read More...
View All Articles By Dilemma

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem