4 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Osmium - Osmium @ The Royal, Palmerston North 07/02/13

22 Feb 2013 // A review by terry666

Robin a two piece self described post rock band opened up the evening with an inspiring set. An instrumental band predominantly it was swirling guitar sounds with almost tribal rhythms. The band Mad Season came to mind with the guitar sounding very similar in style to some of Mike McCready's (Pearl Jam and Mad Season) work. This was quite a mesmerising set which was a great way to kick things off.

Intergracia have a melodic progressive metal sound with plenty of speed and frills to keep you captivated. The guys in this band have been long stayers in the Wellington metal scene with Tim Mekalick (vocals and guitars) been in many bands from there including Magnum Opus and Darklight Corporation and Kieran Gallagher also coming from Magnum Opus and Fallen Order. Experience shows and these guys definitely do give you that. It was a massive set from these guys.

Osmium are awesome. If you love Alice In Chains then you will love Osmium and I am unashamedly a huge Alice In Chains fan. Although there is huge Alice In Chains comparisons they are still very original and but have a sound very close to the Layne Staley era Alice In Chains. They have the sound of clean, tight, stomping, chugging riffs that thump into your head and trigger it to bang. Dual vocals that create great vocal harmonies that churn inside your mind leading to the primal scream with wailing guitar as the background. I’m sure the ghost of Layne R.I.P. was above them and backing them up. My only complaint was that their set was far too short. With two albums out they have plenty of material so was a little gutted for such a short set but man it was awesome anyway and I can only hope the guys read this and we get longer set next tour.

Hailing all the way from Wanganui Kavort thrashed out with a solid sound and energy that gets the crowd amped. I have seen these guys a few times now and they never fail to entertain. Jason Waters on vocals is a real find and he is a great front man and the rest of the band stand behind him to make them a force to be reckoned with. They now have a second guitarist which always gives a better layered sound and the crowd just lap it up. They are very active on stage which helps get the crowd going.

Another fantastic night at The Royal was had by all in attendance. Such a great venue, Great bands and a few quite ones do make a brilliant night out.

 

About Osmium

Formed in 2005 through a mutual love of classic metal and heavy grooves Osmium have been putting on high energy performances all over NZ since their inception.
Proving their diversity Osmium have shared the stage with such NZ heavyweights as Shihad, Sinate, 8 Foot Sativa, The Heavy Metal Ninjas, New Way Home and much, much more.

Our second album The Misery Harvest is now available on both: Bandcamp:
http://osmiumnz.bandcamp.com/album/the-misery-harvest

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Osmium

Releases

The Misery Harvest
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Relentless, Primal Being
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem