19 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ekko Park - Becoming The Enemy Single Review

03 Feb 2013 // A review by elchicko

If I was able to achieve metamorphosis I would love to transform into a rock chick, stand in the front row of the next Ekko Park show, and portray my love to them in the only way possible, the way Tom Jones was so used to for all those years at the top. Unfortunately for those guys and you male readers I am not a rock chick (I do wish I could wear some of their fashion garments) but a chap who loves his music and is constantly impressed by the level of brilliant music that the New Zealand industry is bringing out.

I had never heard of Ekko Park before this review and was straight away focused onto the song by its speedy, intense opening chords. Nothing ground breaking in terms of technical ability, but a sound that sets the listener up for what to expect for the next 4 minutes. The change of pace at the start of every verse allows the eventual build up back to the thrashing and exciting chord structure, which should be incorporated in every rock song. Music is a ride and this ride is happy and should be enjoyed for all its entirety.

Some may liken this sound to the likes of Good Charlotte, My Chemical Romance, and New Found Glory. In no way is this a bad thing, its sharp, well produced and easy on the ears. Normally I have a problem with songs that go over the three minute mark, but this song has the capacity to stay sounding fresh all the way though. If I had to describe this song in one word for the benefit of my mother it would be ‘Captivating’

Should you listen or buy this song? Of course you bloody should it’s a corker..

IT’S A BUY


Editor Note - Becoming The Enemy will be released on Tuesday 5 February 2013

 

About Ekko Park

Ekko Park released their highly anticipated, independently released second album Know Hope in October 2015, going straight in to the Official NZ Album Chart at #13 and was the #5 Kiwi album.

2017 saw the release of the single Going Uptown which continued the bands rise and success in Europe, culminating in Ekko Park's first ever European Tour across Italy with a stop in Ireland.

2018 starts in earnest as the band welcomes new guitarist Alex Hargreaves to the team.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ekko Park

Releases

Know Hope
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By elchicko

Ghetto Sunrise Album Review
15 Jun 2014 // by elchicko
I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear.
Read More...
Fictional Response - Scarred Single Review
02 Dec 2013 // by elchicko
Wham bam thank you man, this song is a rasper. What do I mean by that?
Read More...
Supervillains (RMC) - SVRMC EP Review
09 Sep 2013 // by elchicko
I love taking on new challenges, I put my head down and meet the oncoming collision without any thought for my well being.  When I was given this assignment, I made a few trips to the world of the internet, to research this chaps, to assume the attack position.
Read More...
Swamp Thing Live @ Churchill Tavern, Christchurch 18/08/13
19 Aug 2013 // by elchicko
50 people certainly became fans of Swamp Thing, if they had not already been fans. The biggest travesty of this memorable evening is the fact that these two master musicians are not playing to larger crowds, and in my mind taking somewhere like the USA by storm with their blues, rockabilly, bluegrass, and rock vibe.
Read More...
Swamp Thing - Primordium Album Review
07 Aug 2013 // by elchicko
If you have never heard of this band, its hard to imagine that it’s a twosome with the full sound they seem to generate. The first thing that struck me was the presence of the singer’s voice.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise - One Drop Love EP Review
22 Jul 2013 // by elchicko
Yes, yes and yes is my new formula for a thing of beauty. This short 6 song EP is a thing of beauty that brought my senses to an almost orgasmic state.
Read More...
The Drab Doo Riffs - Aquatic Ape Theory EP Review
28 Jun 2013 // by elchicko
Overall this concept EP left me feeling very flat and not at all inspired, but there were some highlights that perked up that interest. If you’re a fan of the movie Pulp Fiction there is a similar sound radiating from The Drab Doo Riffs.
Read More...
The Phoenix Foundation - Fandango Album Review
12 May 2013 // by elchicko
No relation to the pro wrestler, The Phoenix Foundation bring us their newest collaboration of music Fandango. The first track Black Mould sets up the whole album, a hypnotic, lazy boy afternoon in the sun experience, preferably with a view of glistening snowy mountain tops, which fortunately is never to far away when you are in the South Island.
Read More...
View All Articles By elchicko

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem