21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

David Rasmussen - Blue Sky Shining Album Review

10 Jan 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Serve Blue Sky Shining with a sweet cocktail. Best enjoyed in a hammock. Like the liner notes suggest “Relax and enjoy!”

This is probably not a release for the reigning younger generation. Blue Sky Shining not a foray into the decadent world of sex, drugs and swearing. It’s a celebration of life. In his communication Rasmussen mentioned he was targeting an audience of 35 years and older, those that believe like my father that modern music is too much about drums and less about the guitar and the voice. Rasmussen, on acoustic guitar and with his voice and backing band, makes the music they used to make.

The country / blues rock style of Blue Sky Shining takes me back to a time in the distant past when the family would bundle into the van and travel around the Taranaki, from Oakura to Opunake, following the local cowboy heroes around the country music circuit. Rasmussen would have fit right in with that crowd. Music from the heart and soul.

Blue Sky Shining
View Track Listing
 

About David Rasmussen

David Rasmussen, aka The Raz Man, is of Cook Island descent and has spent his youth growing up in the Hutt Valley of Wellington, learning to play acoustic guitar by the age of 8, whilst at Tech he formed a band and played covers at venues most weekends when not playing Club Rugby League. This band, ironically named Gandalf disbanded appox 5-6 years later and he then set off for the big city lights of Sydney until 5 years ago and returned back to the Hutt to pursue his first passion...........hence this debut album.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Rasmussen

Releases

Blue Sky Shining
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem