23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Elephant Of The Ocean - Torso Looking For Legs Single Review

06 Nov 2012 // A review by Asmith

Brutal from the very first note, these guys are bringing the standard of kiwi metal to a new level with their first single Torso Looking For Legs. Everything from Production to the music itself is annihilating my ears as I listen to it, over and over again.

Very heavy groove based riffs (that actually kind of remind me of Pantera) with some of their self-proclaimed Dumb Math riffs keeping a technical aspect to their sound, and the use of midi effects and pre-recorded out takes that take it all that little bit further. The vocals showcase an ability beyond the usual "death growls and nothing but death growls" that is so prominent in NZ metal and it’s good to hear a range of techniques- and that’s just the first track!

They currently have two singles available for FREE DOWNLOAD (Torso Looking For Legs and Wednsday Arrived Saturday) which are available on their facebook page, and if you are anything like me after listening to their singles you will be awaiting their debut album in early 2013 with eager anticipation!

 

About Elephant Of The Ocean

Elephant of the Ocean (EOTO) has been punishing crowds around Wellington, NZ since early 2009, with their high-energy live shows, unpredictable song structures and intense onslaught of sludgey grooves. Although EOTO are fairly new they are no strangers to the stage with all members previously involved in other bands such as Damn Image, Fat Mannequin and Worn Villain.
After starting off playing small shows they swiftly progressed onto bigger stages playing along side international heavyweights such as Russian Circles, The Melvins, High on Fire, Architects and Five Star Prison Cell they have now been dubbed as one of NZ’s best live heavy acts, an absolute must-see for all!
After many unsatisfactory attempts to self-record they decided to approach experienced sound engineer Mike Gibson (Akaname, TrinityRoots, Fur Patrol) to capture the relentless assault of their live sound. The song ‘Torso looking for legs’ was released as a single in January 2012 as a lead up to the highly anticipated debut E.P.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Elephant Of The Ocean

Releases

Elephant of the Ocean
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem