21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Hello Sailor - Surrey Crescent Moon Album Review

28 Oct 2012 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Hello Sailor are one of those bands that need no introduction. They’re a kiwi institution, like L&P and Pav. Their songs “Gutter Black” and “Blue Lady” were radio staples through my formative years and still appear on the playlists of what the kids call the “old people stations,” the Breeze and the Sound (formally Solid Gold).

Hello Sailor have been around forever and as a sign that they’re still here amongst us they’ve just released Surrey Crescent Moon while simultaneously touring our fine country with Dragon.

Though, with 35 years of releasing records under their belt, one must ask, is Hello Sailor still relevant to New Zealanders today? 

This month we heard that James Blunt had retired from the music business, the response for many was astonishment at the revelation that up to the announcement James Blunt was still making music. 

Unlike James Blunt, In many ways Hello Sailor never really left the music scene. They’ve released two albums a decade since the seventies.  And many thanks must go to Outrageous Fortune for bringing “Gutter Black” back into the public’s collective consciousness.

Also unlike James Blunt the music of Hello Sailor is consistent, listenable and proven. Listening to Hello Sailor’s Surrey Crescent Moon and James Blunt’s All the Lost Souls, needless to say, brings two very different experiences.  There are many reasons for this, and I know the two should never really be lumped together, a Kiwi giant and a British 2 hit wonder, but there is a reason. On the first listen of All the Lost Souls I skipped every track except the first, “1973.” This wasn’t the case with Surrey Crescent Moon. 

Does it sound like “Gutter Black?” comes a question from an Outrageous Fortune aficionado next to me. Well, no.  And I wouldn’t expect it to. The band has been through so much since that song. Does all Nirvana sound like “Smells like Teen Spirit”? 

I am ashamed to say that apart from tidbits here and there, this is the first Hello Sailor album I’ve had the chance to digest head to heel. This makes it difficult to compare the Hello Sailor of the eponymous release of ’77 to the men behind Surrey Crescent Moon.  

From the mouth of Brazier, himself: “These tunes reflect a lifetime of grasping at a 2 dollar poker table, hoping for a Royal Flush, but all too often arriving with two sevens. But today, I feel we have 5 Aces.” It’s a very Bukowski-esque run down of Hello Sailor’s musical journey from the eye of an insider.  I hear it now. After reading that quote. There are hints of melancholy in Brazier’s crooning voice. Close your eyes and you’ll see a tragic Dean Martin figure on a dim lit stage holding a microphone, and a warm glass of scotch. Black shades hide his eyes, Hawaiian shirt faded.

What I can say is the sound of the album is definitely a throwback to yesteryear. A tropical cocktail of Calypso, Blues, Country and Pop/Rock. It doesn’t sound like an attempt to modernise an already tried and true sound, and that’s a good thing. In the past we’ve heard some bands go horribly wrong in attempts to open up their niche sound to a wider audience. I don’t want to point fingers at Linkin Park, Good Charlotte, Nelly Furtado, Nelly, Britney Spears, Marilyn Manson… I’m happy to say it looks like Hello Sailor aren’t ready for that list yet.

Kiddie don’t buy your dad another REPCO voucher for Christmas. Save it for his birthday. He can buy tools and toys any day, this CD will give him something to listen to when he’s out in the shed avoiding your mum. Buy another copy for your mum so she can overshare about her student days as a groupie at the Double Deca Dances in ’75.  Surrey Crescent Moon is fun for the whole family, well apart from the brooding teenagers, unless they’re one of those BoHo retro Hipsters. Teenagers these days, they just… don’t get it.

Surrey Crescent Moon
View Track Listing
 

About Hello Sailor

No one can challenge Hello Sailor's place in the evolution of Kiwi music. They surfaced among the inner city student population in the midst of the 1970's disco boom playing, soul, Velvet Underground, Rolling Stones and their own distinctive brand of South Pacific Rock'n'Roll come 'Ponsonby Reggae'. Their debut self titled album released in 1977 was the first locally made New Zealand record to achieve Gold Record status and Hello Sailor had the country at its feet.

In 1978 the band based itself in Hollywood and came close to securing a signing to an American major. It was not to be and Hello Sailor come home and then tried Australia before running out of money and steam in 1980.

Since that time there have been solo projects, film scores, acting, reformations, tours, two further Hello Sailor studio albums and lots of great music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hello Sailor

Releases

Surrey Crescent Moon
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
When Your Lights Are Out
Year: 2006
Type: Album
The Sailor Story
Year: 1996
Type: Album
The Album
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Shipshape & Bristol Fashion
Year: 1986
Type: Album
Last Chance To Dance
Year: 1982
Type: Album
Pacifica Amour
Year: 1978
Type: Album
Hello Sailor
Year: 1977
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem