25 Sep 2021

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Harbour City Electric - Without a Sound Album Review

15 Oct 2012 // A review by Miss_Jukebox

With the Christmas break just around the corner it is time to organise not only your holiday, but more importantly your summer soundtrack! Wellington is renowned for breeding great musical acts born to entertain us for the summer season. And Harbour City Electric are definitely proving they are one of the finest. The seven-piece contemporary funk-soul group have released Without a Sound, an album full of feel-good zeal. Harbour City Electric are the perfect blend of punchy funk beats, unassailable soul, and breezy jazz. 

The intro to Without a Sound filters through, like flecks of the sunlight breaking through the leaves of a tree. The brass instruments are the tour guides on this trip. The trombone and the trumpet are incandescent throughout the album.

‘One Foot’ exhibits the divine vocals of singer Ned Worboys. He is robust yet tender. His voice is commanding in its precision. ‘One Foot’ produces blissful harmonies in this unhurried, soulful jazz swing. These guys are not in any rush and set a very easing, laid-back pace. ‘Hey Sister’ sits right into the groove and culminates in a beautiful apex towards the end of the track. 

Harbour City are definitely in their element on this album, with songs brimming with funk. ‘’Bout Time’ marks the point where it’s time to get down, let loose and have fun. In ‘Earthship’ and ‘To Give’ the gorgeousness of the guitar is seamed with spunky off-beats. ‘Seek and Destroy’ spawns the most infectious guitar loop and the ghostly overtones in ‘Stoned Masons’ make it a very interesting instrumental piece. The electro-keys of ‘Game Life’ generate a very arcade-game vibe atop the acid funk of the song. ‘D.O.C. (Department of Conversation)’ is all smooth and all soul.

'Heal Me’ has a beautiful melody that is heart-breaking and heavenly. The song is an odyssey of sound. ‘1st Impressions’ is pure suave. It is a true chill out track and coupled with the title track, ‘Without a Sound,’ makes a fitting outro to the album. The latter is velvet in its conception and slides across the room when it is played. 

This talented group have produced a polished and stunningly collated intersection of the best parts of the funk, soul and jazz genres. Without a Sound is the ideal accessory to the summer sun.


Without A Sound
View Track Listing

About Harbour City Electric

Hailing from Wellington, Harbour City Electric are a live seven-piece band who have incorporated a diverse array of influences ranging from Motown era funk and soul through to contemporary Hip-Hop to create their unique sound. Throwing synthesizers, tight horns, a kicking rhythm section and world-class vocals into the mix, Harbour City Electric have crafted their own unique style, which can only be described as Acid-funk and heavy break-beat soul.

Starting out as a rotating lineup of top Wellington musicians, based at home in the lounge bar of Sandwiches throughout 07/08 (Winner: Best Music Offering, 2007 NZ Bar Awards) the group had the pleasure of sharing the stage weekly with a whole host of heavy weight Wellington musicians. Members of The Black Seeds, Recloose Live Band, Solaa, Olmecha Supreme and Rhombus made appearances to name a few. The weekly Sandwiches residency defined Harbour City Electric’s place within Wellington’s competitive music scene.

April 20th 2009 saw the release of their debut EP, featuring guest singer extraordinaire Lisa Tomlins (Fat Freddy's Drop, Recloose, Rhombus) and five superbly crafted tracks. The EP was engineered by local legend Mike Gibson, mixed by Benny Tones (Electric Wire Hustle, Pacific Heights) at Newtown's Organik Muzik Workz and

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Harbour City Electric


Without A Sound
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Harbour City Electric
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Miss_Jukebox

Age Pryor - Single Review: Burning Sun
15 Nov 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
Having built a steady portfolio of compositions since the turn of this century, Age Pryor (Fly My Pretties, The Woolshed Sessions, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra) has inconspicuously become a pillar amongst New Zealand’s finest artists. And in the same understated way his career has unfolded so far, his new single Burning Sun retains the unassuming charm and placidity of his sound.
Sola Rosa - EP Review: In Spaces
15 May 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
The highly-acclaimed, genre-fusing artist Sola Rosa is back with a new EP In Spaces - a stellar addition in the artist’s almost two-decade career. In Spaces explores the soundscapes of funk, soul and RnB, pillared by sturdy grooves and commanding vocal performances from a selection of outstanding feature artists.
Emily Fairlight - Single/Video Review: The Escape
13 Mar 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
Poet and alt-folk singer-songwriter Emily Fairlight has released her latest song The Escape - a bittersweet romantic ballad with plush country/folk vibes. It’s a hauntingly beautiful composition that sinks into you with its heartfelt delivery and writing.
The Frank Burkitt Band - Album Review: Raconteur
14 Feb 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
Peruse through the gorgeous pages of Frank Burkitt’s storybook in Frank Burkitt Band’s latest album – a beautiful collection of narratives set to folk, jazz, blues and American roots essences. Raconteur is the second full-length album from the band, who formed in Wellington during 2014 after Burkitt, and his partner Kara Filbey (who provides vocals, flute and percussion on the album) moved from Edinburgh.
I Am Giant - Single Review: Don't Look Back
08 Feb 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
New Zealand’s rock darlings, I Am Giant have started their 2018 with a bang – releasing their first new single of the year, Don’t Look Back; before they unleash their hotly-anticipated third full-length album, Life in Captivity - which is due out in March. This will be the first full-length release from the band since 2014’s Science and Survival.
Lucas O'Connell - Songs to Sleep On Album Review
10 Nov 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Music voyager Lucas O’Connell has released a beautiful debut album, Songs to Sleep On that encapsulates his skills to meaningfully personify all that is around him. The album was recorded primarily in Wellington’s Surgery Studios under the guidance of his main studio engineer Dr.
Lucie Hill - Little Lapin EP Review
09 Jul 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
One look into her bright eyes, Little Lapin will have you mesmerised. Auckland-based Lucy Cioffi in her musical alter-ego Little Lapin has finally released her self-titled debut EP.
Sarah Conlan Singles Review
25 May 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Sarah Conlan, a young country singer/songwriter is part of a country music resurgence happening before our eyes. I always thought of country music as a self-contained genre.
View All Articles By Miss_Jukebox

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
    Ed Sheeran
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
    Glass Animals
    Billie Eilish
    Ed Sheeran
    Doja Cat
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem