5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Three Houses Down - Three Houses Down @ The Colosseum, Palmerston North 21/09/2012

08 Oct 2012 // A review by Asmith

Coming onstage proclaiming themselves as “Roots Rock Reggae” and then bringing it full force with a modern twist. With an almost hyperactive stage performance this was a very, very tight 9 piece who showed their professionalism throughout their set, with sound problems plaguing them for the better part of the show they didn’t let it phase them at all and kept on going, and having experienced bad sound myself I know exactly how hard it can be to push through when you’re constantly getting feedback, so big ups on that one boys!

Fortunately this was the only set back at all during their entire show and they had the crowd pumping and gagging for more with multiple encores. Crowd interaction was amazing and continued throughout the entire set which is no small feat.

I had taken a friend of mine with me two the show and we were both in agreement that the lead singer reminded us very much of a young Jimmy Cliff, and not just his vocal tone either it was the whole package with a high energy stage presence that kept the crowd engaged like reggae hypnosis.

This was the first time I had seen Three Houses down and I will be catching them again next time they are in town for sure!

 

About Three Houses Down

Over the past decade, Three Houses Down have established themselves as one of New Zealand’s musical exports. With tours and success all over the world, along with a dedicated following at home, 2016 will see Three Houses Down release what is poised to be one of NZ’s finest reggae releases to date.

Three Houses Down was born in 2004 after brothers Rob, Sione and Charlie Pome’e left their previous band based three houses up the road from their parents’ home. While the previous ten years has seen several line-up changes, the driving force behind their desire to live their dreams has remained the same – family. “To be honest that is the secret to our band, a strong family foundation. It brings us back to ground level.”

The band’s style – a combination of their love for classical reggae and their Polynesian roots – has been crafted over countless live shows, and was put on display with their first two albums, Dreadtown (2007) and Breakout (2009). Both albums were huge successes both at home and abroad, with multiple Pacific Music Awards to their name, along with huge tours throughout Hawai’i and the United States.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Three Houses Down

Releases

Moon & Back
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Break Out
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Dreadtown
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem