27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Amachine - Abrasive Absurd EP Review

20 Aug 2012 // A review by Asmith

Brutal from the start, a rare mix of old school groove and modern prog/tech that leaves you wanting more and more. When the EP finished I was distraught that it was not a full length album, and then I played it again and felt a little better.

Amachine is a band sure to take their place in the ranks of NZ metal, I have no doubt about that. After seeing them play live half a dozen times I was waiting with anticipation for this album and I was not let down, firmly taking their place as one of my favourite kiwi metal bands with this release.

The song writing itself is something to admire, with heavy crunching grooves separated with breakdowns and off beats (and sometimes all three). Lyrics are deep and meaningful, and lack the shallowness of that pop dribble that is mass produced these days, and the vocals themselves add another brutal layer on top of the music.

Not only is the song writing well thought out and catchy, but the actual application is even better! These boys HAVE been working on their art, and it shows.

If you have seen these boys live, or you just want to hear some kick ass kiwi metal GO AND GET THIS ALBUM!!!! 9/10, Good work boys!

 

 

About Amachine

Amachine are a vicious three-piece from Tarananki.

Exploding on to the NZ metal scene Halloween 2009, they independently released their debut 4 track EP in July 2012, entitled Abrasive Absurd. This EP was engineered by Evil Minion at The Pit Of Destiny - Seventh Sin Studios, in Taranaki and was mastered by Nigel Mauchline at Whiplash Studios, in Wanganui.

Amachine have received radio air-play from The Axe Attack (The Rock FM), The Kiwi Metal Bar on Kiwi FM, Anger Management (Radio Active FM), The Yak FM 107.1, and they were also interviewed on Metal-Head (Access Manawatu FM). Online radio from The Crypt Of Brutality, who featured an Amachine track on The Noble Order Of Chicago Metal compilation CD in September 2012.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Amachine

Releases

Abrasive Absurd
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem