19 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dr. Monster - Death Devine Album Review

27 Jul 2012 // A review by Asmith

Now I should probably point out first off that I am not a big punk fan, and punk is one genre that I know very little about, but even a bad punk CD is still going to sound a hell of a lot better than my flatmates dubstep collection, fortunatly for me this CD isn't bad at all.

I would describe this sound as "horror punk", if you could imagine what that might be. The vocalist has a slight slur while singing throughout which can make some of the pronunciations a little hard to understand sometimes (but the more gravel he adds the clearer he becomes) but I think it is very much his sound that defines this band and gives it some originality and really sets it apart from a lot of the other punk bands that are around to today. This album contains a mix of sound, from upbeat punk rock to slow punk ballads like "Recipe For Perfection".

I think I can actually almost hear a rock n roll influence through some of the progressions, although this could just be something that has transcended through the punk scene over the years, in which case it would have slipped right past me. Along with "Recipe For Perfection" there were two other standout songs for me, "Hold Hands When We Die" and "Taste The Blood" which for me really showcased the bands songwriting abilities through things like tempo changes and rhythmic diversity among others. So if you like punk, horror punk, or just want a healthy distraction from your flatmates dubstep I would recommend you go and grab a copy of this album. 

Death Devine
View Track Listing
 

About Dr. Monster

Dr. Monster was formed Jan 2010 to help kill time while VonToxics band Horror Story looked for a new drummer. Toxic switched to drums with flat mates Stefan X on guitar & Dave Monster picking up the bass. Soon joined by local metal vocalist Mike Jacques making the line up complete.

Halloween 2011 saw the release of From Beyond (at the bands second show). Consisting of 2 recording sessions done pretty much live in the studio. Their sound is melodic horror punk with some doom metal & death rock mixed in. The vocals are the icing on this cake, vocalist Mike Jacques sounds nothing like any of The Misfits singers but can croon with the best of them.

It turned out this was just the beginning, after adding 2nd guitarist Glen Reaper, the band returned with the follow up album Death Devine released early 2012! This time the production & songwriting bring a mature sound & originality making it a must have for any fan of horror punk/death/dark rock & gothic metal! The band can be heard on their facebook page & horror-punks.com profile.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dr. Monster

Releases

Death Devine
Year: 2012
Type: Album
From Beyond
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem