31 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gift of Ruin - JuneFest @ Breakers Bar, Wanganui 30/06/12

27 Jul 2012 // A review by Asmith

Now I don't normally like to review a band more than once, but this was a performance that needed to be talked about.

During the very first song the vocalist somehow manged to be so clumsy that he stompoed on his own drinks, spilling them everywhere, and as you can imagine the rage that this caused sent the rest of their set into brutal overdrive.

Now for those of you who have been to a Pariah gig in their hometown of Wanganui, or to Junefest for that matter, you will know the massive response they get EVERY time. Gift Of Ruin is the ONLY band I have ever seen get a bigger badder mosh pit than pariah in their hometown (in all fairness Pariah did get the crowd warmed up for them) It was insane! A full blown circle rage pit inside breakers family restaraunt- there were fists and elbows flying everywhere, people being thrown around and across the room, and a sea of heads moshing back and forth to the music (except for that one guy that got smashed in the head with the mic when the vocalist was swinging it round).

I was very impressed, these guys keep getting better and better evertime I see them play, if they happen to be in a town near you I suggest you lock up your daughters and get your ass up off the couch to go check them out cos your in for one hell of a show!

 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Gift of Ruin.

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • RAIN ON ME
    Lady Gaga And Ariana Grande
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem