20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cage Demise - Cage Demise @ The Royal 29/06/12

27 Jul 2012 // A review by Asmith

If you happen to be from Palmerston North and you love metal then you will, no doubt, have heard or heard of Cage Demise (if you havn't then may I suggest you knock down whatever is holding up the rock you are currently hiding under).

Straight off the bat these boys come outas high energy as ever, so hard in fact that their drummer broke his kick pedal on the very first song!!! The usual brutal onslaught ensued, and after nearly a year of not playing together it's like nothing had changed, they were still just as tight as they have ever been.

Jumping ontop of whatever they can find, getting into the crowd to mosh- I've never been let down by a Cage Demise performance and this night was no different, the vocalist even choking himself with the mic lead at one point.

Crowd interaction has always been a big part of Cage shows, with birthday shoutouts and even a dedication to the boys from Sinate with the song "Lamb of Sinate". Another hearty performance yet again, Bring back the Cage!!!

 

About Cage Demise

Cage Demise is a 4-piece metal band hailing from Palmerston North. Formed in late 2006, Cage Demise has prepared and written over 15 original tracks and shared the stage with the likes of 8 Foot Sativa, Sinate, Wrath, Subtract, Set on End, Tainted, Human, Pariah, Gunt, Cell, Slave Cadaver and Australia's Beyond Terror Beyond Grace plus many more.

Influenced by the likes of Pantera, Lamb of God, Parkway Drive, Unearth, Killswitch Engage, Dethklok, As I lay Dying, Sinate, Wrath and 8 Foot Sativa, Cage Demise brings a mixture of Metal and Hardcore to create an original Heavy Metal sound. Backed up by a brutal stage presence and over 100 shows under their belts, they know how to entertain a crowd.

The Wick EP was released in May 2008 which included 7 original tracks. 12 Months of shows around the North Island followed by some well deserved practice time has seen a new breed of Cage Demise unleashed in 2009. With the addition of good friend Damo on bass and Ryan taking over the front man duties, Cage Demise was set to unleash a new breed of Metal.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cage Demise

Releases

The Wick EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem