21 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Zowie - Love Demolition - Album Review

25 Jul 2012 // A review by Miss_Jukebox

Pack your bags and come aboard Love Demolition, the debut album by our electric darling, Zowie. The album is loaded with smouldering synthpop that will have you enslaved. Zowie will have you at her mercy as one after another fabulous dance tracks come blasting out of the speakers. This album is a glitter-bomb hitting the ears. It is funky, it is chic, it's pure fun. You have no choice. This album must be played on full volume. 

The album launches off on the sky-rocketing title track, spinning into an electronic orbit that you won't be leaving anytime soon. This slides into the fluorescent spandex of 'You Treat Me (Like I'm Software)'. This track taps into the 80's synth vibes, a very Dead or Alive-esque dance track. In fact this album embraces a new new-wave. It thrusts upon you the lazer lights, the shoulder pads- it is the glitz of 1984 right here in 2012. 

Enter the hand claps and we are whipped by 'Smash It' and 'My Calculator,' two of the singles released from the album.'My Calculator' might have the asinine lyrics 'read my calculator, I want to see you later,' but you have to forgive Zowie because she follows this song with 'Nothing Else' which has the most cut-throat bass bursting through it. This is certainly one of the many highlights on Love Demolition

'King of One Thing' and 'Zip it Up' fill the middle of the album with a slightlier rockier sound and add a touch of variation. 'Zip it Up' ensnares you with its flirty and sexy charm. 'Anodyne' and 'Idiotize' bring the tempo down just a notch. 'Anodyne' is beautifully laced with Zowie's vocals, more melody than the rhythm-focused tracks that mostly comprise Love Demolition. 'Idiotize' has that grace of a Goldfrapp production perfected within it.

Zowie is clearly inspired by the artists she has played alongside with in her career. Songs like 'Nasty Fun' and 'Love or Hate' have Peaches smeared all over them. Zowie gives a nod to the great heroines of the electronic dance genre throughout the album, and all the same is strutting onto the dancefloor and taking her own rightful place. 

Included on the album are three bonus tracks, one of which is the instantly recognised 'Broken Machine,' the track that was the launchpad for this sparkler that is Zowie. 'Broken Machine' is the tweenager to the woman comandeering the rest of the album, demonstrating that this artist is certainly maturing from a pop princess into a full-fledged queen of the dancefloor. 

The album closes with 'Bite Back' in which Zowie proclaims in her departing words 'I won't go settle, I'm gonna go do this now my own way.' In Love Demolition Zowie demonstrates that she is an unstoppable firecracker, blazing up the night sky with fluro charm. It is sassy, it is vivavious, it is a delicious dance album. 'Broken Machine' was just the tip of a technopop iceberg. Love Demolition is an electric thrill that you should definitely embark on. 

 

About Zowie

Zowie is a Electro / Pop / Punk artist from Auckland. Best known for her hit Broken Machine, which features on her debut album Love Demolition.

Formally known as Bionic Pixie.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Zowie

Releases

Love Demolition
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Miss_Jukebox

Age Pryor - Single Review: Burning Sun
15 Nov 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
Having built a steady portfolio of compositions since the turn of this century, Age Pryor (Fly My Pretties, The Woolshed Sessions, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra) has inconspicuously become a pillar amongst New Zealand’s finest artists. And in the same understated way his career has unfolded so far, his new single Burning Sun retains the unassuming charm and placidity of his sound.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - EP Review: In Spaces
15 May 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
The highly-acclaimed, genre-fusing artist Sola Rosa is back with a new EP In Spaces - a stellar addition in the artist’s almost two-decade career. In Spaces explores the soundscapes of funk, soul and RnB, pillared by sturdy grooves and commanding vocal performances from a selection of outstanding feature artists.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Single/Video Review: The Escape
13 Mar 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
Poet and alt-folk singer-songwriter Emily Fairlight has released her latest song The Escape - a bittersweet romantic ballad with plush country/folk vibes. It’s a hauntingly beautiful composition that sinks into you with its heartfelt delivery and writing.
Read More...
The Frank Burkitt Band - Album Review: Raconteur
14 Feb 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
Peruse through the gorgeous pages of Frank Burkitt’s storybook in Frank Burkitt Band’s latest album – a beautiful collection of narratives set to folk, jazz, blues and American roots essences. Raconteur is the second full-length album from the band, who formed in Wellington during 2014 after Burkitt, and his partner Kara Filbey (who provides vocals, flute and percussion on the album) moved from Edinburgh.
Read More...
I Am Giant - Single Review: Don't Look Back
08 Feb 2018 // by Miss_Jukebox
New Zealand’s rock darlings, I Am Giant have started their 2018 with a bang – releasing their first new single of the year, Don’t Look Back; before they unleash their hotly-anticipated third full-length album, Life in Captivity - which is due out in March. This will be the first full-length release from the band since 2014’s Science and Survival.
Read More...
Lucas O'Connell - Songs to Sleep On Album Review
10 Nov 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Music voyager Lucas O’Connell has released a beautiful debut album, Songs to Sleep On that encapsulates his skills to meaningfully personify all that is around him. The album was recorded primarily in Wellington’s Surgery Studios under the guidance of his main studio engineer Dr.
Read More...
Lucie Hill - Little Lapin EP Review
09 Jul 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
One look into her bright eyes, Little Lapin will have you mesmerised. Auckland-based Lucy Cioffi in her musical alter-ego Little Lapin has finally released her self-titled debut EP.
Read More...
Sarah Conlan Singles Review
25 May 2013 // by Miss_Jukebox
Sarah Conlan, a young country singer/songwriter is part of a country music resurgence happening before our eyes. I always thought of country music as a self-contained genre.
Read More...
View All Articles By Miss_Jukebox

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem