17 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Great North - Halves Album Review

11 Jun 2012 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Meaningful. Heartfelt. Inspiring. Beautiful. Words like these are used too lightly. They are flowery and like flowers are used to fill space.

It is the language of the puff piece. Writing that keeps the band happy and, with any luck, promotes and advertises the music and the band to a new audience. 

That in mind, how could you describe Great North’s Halves?

Meaningful. Heartfelt. Inspiring. Beautiful. 

Know this is no puff piece. These words come from the heart of a jaded writer and once avid musophile touched by Great North’s sweet, sour and sometimes melancholic stories of romance, love and loss. 

There is such emotional complexity in each song that it is impossible to find a word to describe the myriad of feelings each conjures. The realisation hit me at track four, “To Leave Someone.” I had to go back to it, lyric sheet in hand, to try define what the unfamiliar feeling the song brought over me.  

A lot of this heartrending comes from Hayden Donnell’s lyrics, delivered mournfully, Springsteen-esque, often accompanied by the soft tones of, wife and band mate, Rachel Donnell’s backing vocals.

A sermon common among those teaching writing is “Show don’t tell.” Creative writing lecturers around the world would be inspired by the vivid storytelling within each Great North song. The lyrics speak from a heart, not from an outside observer, conveying true feelings and subjective observation of an individual without lengthy exposition describing the situation. 

You don’t need to be told the stories of these songs. Painted across the moody, emotion inspiring music you can feel the story for yourself, as if you’re taking a seat in the protagonist’s mind’s eye and walking in their scraping shoes, three minutes at a time.

Meaningful. Heartfelt. Inspiring. Beautiful.

 

About Great North

An alternative folk/country band.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Great North

Releases

The Golden Age
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Up In Smoke
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Halves
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Newfoundland
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Soldiers
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem