23 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Great North - Halves Album Review

11 Jun 2012 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Meaningful. Heartfelt. Inspiring. Beautiful. Words like these are used too lightly. They are flowery and like flowers are used to fill space.

It is the language of the puff piece. Writing that keeps the band happy and, with any luck, promotes and advertises the music and the band to a new audience. 

That in mind, how could you describe Great North’s Halves?

Meaningful. Heartfelt. Inspiring. Beautiful. 

Know this is no puff piece. These words come from the heart of a jaded writer and once avid musophile touched by Great North’s sweet, sour and sometimes melancholic stories of romance, love and loss. 

There is such emotional complexity in each song that it is impossible to find a word to describe the myriad of feelings each conjures. The realisation hit me at track four, “To Leave Someone.” I had to go back to it, lyric sheet in hand, to try define what the unfamiliar feeling the song brought over me.  

A lot of this heartrending comes from Hayden Donnell’s lyrics, delivered mournfully, Springsteen-esque, often accompanied by the soft tones of, wife and band mate, Rachel Donnell’s backing vocals.

A sermon common among those teaching writing is “Show don’t tell.” Creative writing lecturers around the world would be inspired by the vivid storytelling within each Great North song. The lyrics speak from a heart, not from an outside observer, conveying true feelings and subjective observation of an individual without lengthy exposition describing the situation. 

You don’t need to be told the stories of these songs. Painted across the moody, emotion inspiring music you can feel the story for yourself, as if you’re taking a seat in the protagonist’s mind’s eye and walking in their scraping shoes, three minutes at a time.

Meaningful. Heartfelt. Inspiring. Beautiful.

 

About Great North

An alternative folk/country band.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Great North

Releases

The Golden Age
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Up In Smoke
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Halves
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Newfoundland
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Soldiers
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • ANTISOCIAL
    Ed Sheeran feat. Travis Scott
  • REMEMBER THE NAME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Eminem And 50 Cent
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem