20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Invader Cain - Feeling The Trend But Thinking Again EP Review

24 May 2012 // A review by Asmith

I find myself wondering just how to describe the sound of Invader Cain... Dirty ‘ol Kiwi Rock n Roll is possibly the best I can come up with.

Filled with rocking riffs and gang vocals I can’t help but relate this sound to the drunken sing-along’s of old, and if you think this is a bad thing you are either too young to understand or too old to be able to read this review by yourself.

If you were wondering what other bands they sound similar too I guess I’m finding that a bit of a struggle too, I can hear little bits of The Offspring, The Foo Fighters, even a bit of The Cult at times but maybe it’s best to just say they sound like Invader Cain, as these boys definitely have their own sound.

This EP is filled with potential hit singles much like the two tracks already receiving airplay, and my personal favourite 'The Devil Sold My Soul' with an almost British Rock n Roll tone and sound to it still unreleased as yet.

If you like Rock n Roll sing-along’s this may just be your new favourite band, and I suggest you check em out!

 

About Invader Cain

Invader Cain is a group of 4 guys who bonded over the purchase of a new drum kit. Their music is inspired by all the complications, obscurities and uncertainties of life. After forming in mid 2009, Invader Cain quickly established themselves as a formidable and energetic live act, no audience comes away un-sweated! They have played with a selection of NZ's talented musicians, in many of Auckland's well know live rock venues.

The members draw on vast musical experiences including being former band members of 'Ruptus Jack' and 'Siren Junkies'. The major musical influences in the lives of the Invader Cain boys include: The Pixies, Smashing Pumpkins, (early) Kings of Leon, Arctic Monkey's and The Killers. Their songs are very real; they don't write nonsense. With songs compiled of catchy riffs, it's difficult to not let their energy rub on off you. Their music has become an iPod staple of many of those who have been lucky enough to get hold of it!

The debut single 'Sleep' has been released off their EP 'This Is The Moment', along with an accompanying online video which has already had extensive play. 'Shonky' has been released recently as their second single, watch out for the video up soon! These singles and the EP are available from Real Groovy, iTunes and any of the live gigs.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Invader Cain

Releases

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem