17 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skank Attack - Here on Out Album Review

01 May 2012 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Why the hell have I never heard of Skank Attack? Perhaps, because I spent the first half of the eighties in a womb, well nine months of it at least, and the last half destroying my parents’ cassette tapes with my teeth.

But with a name that sounds like the Saturday night scene in Palmy, you’d think some one would have mentioned this band to me, knowing how much I hate the Saturday night scene in Palmy.

Thankfully the album is thoughtful, emotive and hard-hitting, nothing like the weekend skank attack at the nightclubs. The album sways between some cleaner, more refined version of punk rock and a less atmospheric and gloomy Joy Division. At times it feels almost as though you’re listening to a 1980s incarnation of Tool. Or an old record from the Cure. Less doom and gloom. More social commentary.

The songs are powerful, driven. The drums are upbeat, the guitar blows past like wind through a wind tunnel. The bass player actually knows how to play bass. There is a certain confidence in the music, but never cockiness. 

For an 80s album it’s aged better than the skanks at the nightclubs, who weren’t even born when these tracks were born, ever will. Though the vocals have the familiar 80s rock accent, typical of some of the early Flying Nun bands, and the guitars are higher on treble and less distorted than they would be nowdays, this album could easily pass off as something released this decade. Roughan did a good job.

Here On Out
View Track Listing
 

About Skank Attack

Skank Attack were a Wellington three piece who were highly active in the mid to late 1980′s. They became well known for their energetic and visually strong live performances, a collaborative attitude and a series of great posters designs.

Like so many bands of the era, Skank Attack gained huge inspiration from the ‘make your own fun’ ethos of the post punk era and embraced the philosophy with relentless enthusiasm, while consciously avoiding some of the limiting clichés of the times.

The group toured regularly and struck up a camaraderie with bands in other cities, particularly Auckland groups like Fish for Life, The Warners and Cicada. Auckland’s BFM were particularly supportive in airing their demos whenever they arrived in town.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skank Attack

Releases

Here On Out
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Skank Attack_Skank Attack
Year: 1987
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
Social Shun - Album Review: Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins
24 Sep 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins: An experiment-like review for an experimental album. Observations Muffins: Warm.
Read More...
Aaron Carpenter and The Revelators - EP Review: Roll with the Punches
20 Aug 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
The last bastions of real music in a world that celebrates mediocrity are the minnows swimming against the current of the mainstream.   What is the mainstream nowadays?
Read More...
Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I think we have this decade’s Daniel Bedingfield on our hands. Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Fallout’s Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.
Read More...
Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musician’s whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song
26 Apr 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northland’s Tempist Fujit. On one side it’s jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.
Read More...
Robby Thorne - Album Review: The White Thorn Track
13 Mar 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a time and place for genre pedantry. I get that categorising artists by genre is a way of qualifying if you will like music before trying it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • VIBES
    Six60
  • BODY
    Loud Luxury feat. brando
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem