16 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kieran Cooper - Yes, No, Sincerely Album Review

25 Mar 2012 // A review by Peter-James Dries

In a rather novel move, over the past month or so Kieran Cooper has been releasing a track a week of Yes, No, Sincerely onto his bandcamp, a move previously employed by Smashing Pumpkins. This serialisation harkens back to the old days before we had unlimited high-speed internet and any album we could ever desire in a couple of clicks and a few minutes.  The waiting with baited breath for the next instalment breeds a newer appreciation for the music.

Stylistically the album is a mix of the 90’s grunge / alt / rock bands we revere. Splashes of Soundgarden, Pearl Jam, Failure, Nirvana, Placebo and more than a hint of Kirsten Hirsch’s melancholy mix with the voice of Kasium to create this reflective, melancholic, subtle work of art. Like I’ve pointed out in a previous review of Kieran’s work, this music takes all that is good about Marilyn Manson’s acoustic works and takes away the self-indulgence and pretentiousness.

Thematically, the tracks administer doses of emotions, feelings and topics pop songs can only sugar coat in tracks like Ceelo Green’s “Forget You” or Eamon’s “F*** You”. This album came with a warning; It’s a far stretch from In Search of Reason, Kieran’s previous outing. I sat for the thirty minutes waiting for some shock, some twist, something that would make me go... hmm that’s a little... pop. The moment never came. There are certainly a few more uplifting moments in Yes, No, Sincerely, like the upbeat, folky strum in the track “No Good”, but nothing in the record is uncomfortable, or cringe-worthy. Nothing at all sugar-coated.

The power behind the studio recordings of these tracks, which you may have already heard on Yes, No, Acoustic or Live from the Khuja Lounge, is in the subtleties. The reverb on the vocals, the multilayered guitar and the atmosphere all bring a different aspect to the songs we know and love. A good listen. Introspective. Reflective. Inspiring. Not entirely doom and gloom, but far from cheesy and squeamishly uplifting.  

Yes, No, Sincerely is available on Kieran Cooper’s bandcamp page.

Yes, No, Sincerely
View Track Listing
 

About Kieran Cooper

From his soon to be released single and EP, expect rich vocal harmonies and guitar work reminiscent of Elliott Smith, Kristin Hersh and Iron & Wine.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kieran Cooper

Releases

Sticks & Stones
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Did You Miss Me?
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Yes, No, Sincerely
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem