22 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kieran Cooper - Yes, No, Sincerely Album Review

25 Mar 2012 // A review by Peter-James Dries

In a rather novel move, over the past month or so Kieran Cooper has been releasing a track a week of Yes, No, Sincerely onto his bandcamp, a move previously employed by Smashing Pumpkins. This serialisation harkens back to the old days before we had unlimited high-speed internet and any album we could ever desire in a couple of clicks and a few minutes.  The waiting with baited breath for the next instalment breeds a newer appreciation for the music.

Stylistically the album is a mix of the 90’s grunge / alt / rock bands we revere. Splashes of Soundgarden, Pearl Jam, Failure, Nirvana, Placebo and more than a hint of Kirsten Hirsch’s melancholy mix with the voice of Kasium to create this reflective, melancholic, subtle work of art. Like I’ve pointed out in a previous review of Kieran’s work, this music takes all that is good about Marilyn Manson’s acoustic works and takes away the self-indulgence and pretentiousness.

Thematically, the tracks administer doses of emotions, feelings and topics pop songs can only sugar coat in tracks like Ceelo Green’s “Forget You” or Eamon’s “F*** You”. This album came with a warning; It’s a far stretch from In Search of Reason, Kieran’s previous outing. I sat for the thirty minutes waiting for some shock, some twist, something that would make me go... hmm that’s a little... pop. The moment never came. There are certainly a few more uplifting moments in Yes, No, Sincerely, like the upbeat, folky strum in the track “No Good”, but nothing in the record is uncomfortable, or cringe-worthy. Nothing at all sugar-coated.

The power behind the studio recordings of these tracks, which you may have already heard on Yes, No, Acoustic or Live from the Khuja Lounge, is in the subtleties. The reverb on the vocals, the multilayered guitar and the atmosphere all bring a different aspect to the songs we know and love. A good listen. Introspective. Reflective. Inspiring. Not entirely doom and gloom, but far from cheesy and squeamishly uplifting.  

Yes, No, Sincerely is available on Kieran Cooper’s bandcamp page.

Yes, No, Sincerely
View Track Listing
 

About Kieran Cooper

From his soon to be released single and EP, expect rich vocal harmonies and guitar work reminiscent of Elliott Smith, Kristin Hersh and Iron & Wine.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kieran Cooper

Releases

Sticks & Stones
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Did You Miss Me?
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Yes, No, Sincerely
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem