29 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Homegrown 2012

26 Feb 2012 // A review by terry666

Homegrown, Wellington Waterfront, 18 February 2012

Homegrown, New Zealand’s celebration of our culture of music is awesome. This is the day when all our finest talents are on display in a sublime setting of the Wellington waterfront. Five stages sprawled in between the urban jungle bordered by the sea. It’s across this spread that is layered all of our different genres in a day that will satisfy even the most fussiest of punters.

I loved Homegrown last year and enjoyed myself just as much this time. Last year I stayed put on the rock stage all day but this year I went with the mission to venture and see what else there was to offer. This was the best decision ever. I did start at the rock stage and intended to spend most of the day there but there were a few artists I wanted to step out and see The Adults and Kora were on my list of must see bands for the day.

Black River Drive opened up the rock stage with a fairly decent crowd to get things going and these guys play high energy rock and the crowd started to move around a bit about half way through the set.

Shotgun Alley was up next and these guys are hard rock glam styles. They run around the stage and have great fun rocking out with the audience. Hair fly’s everywhere and a singer that can sing higher than your sister. Sometimes I miss the 80’s.

The next band that I always love to see is The Checks. They have a groove swing that sweeps across the room and the whole place goes to another world. They have a very psychedelic sound which in some ways brings to mind the doors. They are always a brilliant band to watch and it was a pity there were not more there to see them. Ed is an awesome front man who draws deep into himself and then lets it all out in front of you.

The Adults consists of three stars in their own rights Jon Toogood from Shihad fame, Shayne Carter from Straightjacket Fits and Dimmer fame and Julia Deans from Fur Patrol. Pretty much a supergroup and they played a super set. This was my first venture out of the Rock stage and into the red bull lab which was a much more intimate stage which was perfect for them. I love Shayne Carter and he always inspires me with his performance and he was magic again. The way he plays guitar and sings, his movements, his performance, the man lives his music and breaths it out of himself.

Blacklist is my favourite Kiwi hard rock band and I was very amped to be seeing them again. Last year we got a new song this year we got two new songs Red Hush and Egos both were very cool can’t wait for the new album.  These guys always get the crowd rocking and I let my hair out for them and let the head bang. They got a pit going and Damian their singer jumped into the crowd to do a little crowd surfing. One of the highlights was an acoustic version if Just know which as a hardened metal head I even had to struggle to hold back a little tear as I sung along with the rest of the crowd. As is always the case with Blacklist their set is always too short but I along with plenty of other fans were just happy to see the guys back in front of us. Please don’t make it a year for us to get to see you again.

They were the best part of the day for me but Shayne Carter and Kora were right up there as well. It’s very difficult to pick a defining moment when there are so many moments. As I said earlier all genres covered and that’s what makes Homegrown so awesome is being able to Rock out then chill out and then get your boogie on all in one day to world class music.

I was introduced to Kora at a Shihad gig of all places and was blown away with their show then. They are not what your average Metal head would normally get into but these guys will blow your mind every time. This was the second venture away from the rock stage and was so stoked I did as they were unbelievable. Very tight clean crisp bass with some funky grooves that will knock your socks off. They are one of our most talented bands in New Zealand and I must say I ended my night in the Dub and Roots tent rather than the Rock stage which was a pleasant change and such a pleasure to be at.

Homegrown is a massive event showcasing some of New Zealand’s greatest cultural assets. It’s a special day in which you can indulge in the finest of New Zealand’s bands from Rock to Pop and Hip hop all in one magical place. When I die I hope this is what heaven is like. We have the best music right here in our own back yard ... Homegrown!!!!

 

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • LATE NIGHT TALKING
    Harry Styles
  • MATILDA
    Harry Styles
  • MUSIC FOR A SUSHI RESTAURANT
    Harry Styles
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem