17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Geoff Ong - Pictures EP Review

14 Dec 2011 // A review by Kerry Monaghan

If you haven’t yet heard of up and coming talent, Geoff Ong, you will soon, with the release of his first EP, Pictures, making quite a name for himself in pop. Pictures, is a great mix of pop soft rock melody, just in time for summer and those long hot days, giving listeners just a glimpse of what Geoff Ong is capable of musicially as an artist.

The opening number, Between You, Me And The Irony, is a twangy upbeat tune, with soft rock overtones and harmonizing melody, while third track in, Ain’t It The Truth, starts out as a heartfelt acoustic ballad, giving way to a crunchy, surprising rock number, with strong vocals and piano overtones; A definite stand out track and first single in my opinion.

The closing track Rainy Day Song Is the perfect end to a great choice of songs from Geoff, its soft ballad feel is sweet with lots of melody. The feel of

Pictures is a summer vibe, full of unique feel good songs and just the beginning of what is to come from Geoff Ong. So watch this space. www.geoffong.bandcamp.com

 

About Geoff Ong

Geoff Ong wants to be a pop star for dorks. “I love all the sounds and melodies of pop music, but I never really felt like I was cool enough to relate to the people performing it,” he says. “I figure there must be other people out there who feel the same way – my music is for them.”

Geoff’s 2018 single, Fingerprints, a shimmering slice of soulful indie pop, was recorded in his bedroom in Kingsland, with production, mixing and mastering by Phil Levine of the illustrious Igloo Music Studios in Los Angeles, who won two Grammy Awards for their work on 2016’s box office hit, La La Land.

Fingerprints made an immediate impact, peaking at #3 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart and #25 on the overall Hot Singles Top 40 Chart. It was also featured on ZM, The Edge, The Edge TV, and Radio New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Geoff Ong

Releases

Maybe It'll Be Alright
Year: 2020
Type: Album
The Boston EP
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Streetlights
Year: 2014
Type: EP
The Snorlax Mixtape
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Pictures
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kerry Monaghan

Achilles Complex - Single Review: Jack In
20 Jun 2022 // by Kerry Monaghan
Achilles Complex hail from Hamilton and have been making a name for themselves since 2019, when they came on the scene with their explosive prog rock medley. The four piece, compromising of frontman, Harley Flynn (vocals and guitar), Zak Cole (drums), Reece Gielen (vocals and lead guitar) and Jordan Carpenter (bass) create a stunning blend of intricate sounds, both heavy and melodic.
Read More...
Caitlin - Single Review: Hardly
19 May 2022 // by Kerry Monaghan
Caitlin Joy might not sound familiar but you’re a fan of some great acoustic pop/folk tunes, then you’ll want to read on. Having been raised by musicians, it’s no wonder that her musical beginnings started young.
Read More...
Video Nasty - EP Review: Menthol b/w Filthy
15 Mar 2022 // by Kerry Monaghan
Video Nasty are a three piece hailing from Auckland. Having formed in 2020, their cacophony sound is a blend of noise rock that gives you reason to listen.
Read More...
One Dead Man - Album Review: The Deal
27 Feb 2022 // by Kerry Monaghan
If his name sounds familiar, Michael Baxter also fronts the Tauranga punk/noise-pop band, The Dead Man 6 and The Knids. The Deal is a 13 track slab of rock opera genius created from the confines of 2021’s lockdown and revels in honesty about anxiety and the extreme of relationships with the idea of making deals with the devil and the power of attraction and revenge.
Read More...
Radius Kink - Album Review: Orange Room
24 Nov 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Radius Kink have been around for a while now with a few releases up their sleeve, so it’s hard to believe this ‘new’ release of theirs is actually ten years old. The five piece hailing from Christchurch is made up of father and daughter, Dawn Hendriske (vocals, guitar) Gary Hendriske (vocals, bass), a next door neighbour and couple of mates (in no particular order) Gordon Goodinson (vocals, guitar) and Simon Gemmill (drums, keyboard, guitar).
Read More...
Solo Ono - Single Review: Domesticated
13 Oct 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Solo Ono are one of those bands that has been kicking about since 2011, yet still feel like a hidden secret. Over the years they have released singles, a full-length self-titled album and a handful of EP’s.
Read More...
TOOMS - Single Review: Dead Birds
04 Aug 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
TOOMS is possible the most unique two piece I have recently had the pleasure of reviewing. With a nebulous genre that seems to fit where things aren’t supposed to fit, I like it a lot and so should you.
Read More...
Lakius - Single/Video Review: Here We Are Still
05 Jul 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Post-Industrial Metal duo Lakius have another explosive single, this time directly in reference to our country’s marijuana legislation falling short by a 2% margin last year.Here We Are Still is another assault to the senses.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Monaghan

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem