7 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Darklight Corporation - Eminence/Darklight Corporation Guns of Dawn Tour @ The Royal, Sept 9 2011

Darklight Corporation - Eminence/Darklight Corporation Guns of Dawn Tour @ The Royal, Sept 9 2011

16 Oct 2011 // A review by terry666

Eminence/Darklight Corporation Guns of Dawn Tour, The Royal, Palmerston North, Fri Sep 09 2011

Another night at The Royal in Palmy with metal from local executioners Bloodworx, two Wellington bands Evil In Eden and Darklight Corporation, and an international act to boot in Brazilian, Eminence. What a way to spend the night.

Bloodworx are a local outfit that have been playing together for quite a while now. They describe themselves as technical melodic metal which does leave it fairly wide open. Their singer, Mike Smith, has a very cool growl and gets right into talking to the crowd and amping them up. A good front man interacts with the crowd and Mike does an awesome job at this. The two guitar players, Johnny Moore and Craig Monk, trade off riffs and leads like there's no tomorrow and show themselves to be very strong musicians. These guys got the crowd off to a great start and the mosh pit had plenty of action. This is one Palmy band to watch out for. Playing a set of all original material these guys showed the visitors how we do it in Palmy. The crowd roared for more at the end but time was pushing on with four bands on the bill.

Evil In Eden have a whole lot of hassles setting up their keyboard which delayed their set and in the end they gave up and got on with the set minus the keyboards. They played what I would call nu-metal, quite often doing vocal harmonies that were more reminiscent of a hard rock band than a full on thrash or death metal band. These guys reminded me in some ways of Escape The Fate. These guys rocked out and the crowd responded pretty well to them but I think a lot of people were waiting for the next two bands in the line up. Evil In Eden come from Wellington and put on a great show so if you’re in the area check them out.

Darklight Corporation has only been around for a few years but they are making a name for themselves both here and abroad and it isn’t without reason. I voted for them several years ago when they entered the competition to open up for Rock 2 Wellington and I was quite disappointed that they didn’t win the slot. I was very much looking forward to their set tonight as I had high anticipation of what their live shows would be like. They have a very solid guitar sound from Chris Prenter and their front man Fabio Santos once again steps up and shows us what a front man should be. Fabio calls the crowd forward and then growls and screams at you bringing smiles across the faces, of the quite sadistic bunch of metal heads. To me it’s quite an industrial sound with blistering guitar work and a very tight rhythm section. These guys are an awesome example of how good NZ metal is at the moment with so much talent to offer. Between Darklight and Bloodworx we were dealt some awesome hard metal.

Eminence from Brazil was a step up again. I was very impressed by this band. They have a style which is quite unique with lots of flavour. Brazilian metal, especially the drumming has a very enchanting rhythm I would best describe as tribal and there’s no better place to showcase it than metal. They came all the way from Brazil to show us how it’s done and everybody learned their lessons. They played mainly thrash and death metal in style with the tribal rhythms some of it comes across as industrial. These guys put on a mean show and didn’t leave without a head not banging in the room. They have released three albums so far and played a cross section of each during their set. One of the best things about metal is that language is no barrier and a Brazilian death growl is a thing to behold, it's accent gives it another sound altogether. There were some fans made on this night and from the response of the band I hope they come back very soon.

 

About Darklight Corporation

“Just got your album in the mail-Brilliant” DJ Hated-95Bfm

“The songs are powerfully heavy, and the gritty industrial keys and electro-metal rhythms are as catchy as Ebola” Paul Martin- Rip It Up

“Heavy/black/death metal may all sound the same to a lot of people but, of all the local purveyors of the genre I have heard, Darklight Corporation sound the best.” David Osten Gifford-Tearaway

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Darklight Corporation

Releases

Pitchblack
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Darklight Corporation
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem