1 Apr 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kasium - So Electric Single Review

30 Sep 2011 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Kasium’s latest single So Electric is crisp production, catchy riffs, catchier lyrics and a healthy dose of wholesome rock and roll. The single couldn’t have come at a better time. I’ve just come out of a month long Kieran Cooper binge with a hunger for more. It’s a brighter tone than their recent sneaky single, Halo, though very much cut from the same cloth. While their previous effort the Premonition EP was heavily rooting in the traditions of grunge, these new singles from a forthcoming album border on Nu-Metal, a strange claim to make about a New Zealand band, and would sit comfortably on the pop charts next to Lugar Boa and Shotgun Alley.

Kieran brings his shouty voice along for this ride, but it’s far from monotonic. He utilises both the middle and high end of his vocal range, with plenty of colourful sneering between. A good parallel would be the original material from Drowning Pool, think the track Bodies (only fans would know they have other material). Not only does Kieran has a similar vocal range as the late Dave Williams but uses the song to teach his listeners how to count to four.

I wait in anticipation for the drop of the new album as I’m sure many others are. Thankfully, you can catch some sneak singles and other material on Kasium’s Reverbnation page for now and if you haven’t yet try some of Kieran’s solo material, available off Bandcamp.

 

About Kasium

Kasium is Kieran Cooper, Chris Birch & Paul Braddock playing a unique brand of post-grunge-alternative-rock. Formed in 2008 in Auckland, New Zealand, the 3 piece have written and recorded their debut EP 'Premonition' and produced a video for the track 'Drowned'. Currently working on a full length studio album with new material and an evolving sound. This has all been interspersed with numerous live shows for of a growing and appreciative audience




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kasium

Releases

Exhale
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Premonition EP
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
dharmarat - Album Review: WLKNZ
24 Dec 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This review took a long time. This isn’t my usual genre.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem