22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Luger Boa - Luger Boa and Black River Drive @ The Royal, Palmerston North - 19 August 2011

Luger Boa - Luger Boa and Black River Drive @ The Royal, Palmerston North - 19 August 2011

02 Sep 2011 // A review by terry666

Double strength tour with The Rascal kings, Black river drive and Luger Boa 19/08/11

The Royal Palmerston north

I was very excited about heading down to The Royal for great night of Rock n Roll lined up for the evening. The line up had locals The Rascal Kings, Black River Drive and Luger Boa a very electric brew to swill down on a winter’s night in Palmy.  The Royal is a great venue and was filled to the brim. Due to crap timing on my behalf I only got to witness the last song of The Rascal Kings set and the crowd was well established and rocking out. It was the fullest I had seen the Royal in quite some time but in saying that I hadn’t been to the I Am Giant gig the week before. They had a row of barrels across the front of stage which both acted as a barricade but also an extra stage riser for the band to get up into the rafters. This was great for the people at the back of the venue and shorter people like me as it gave all a great view.

Black River Drive hit the stage and the crowd went crazy. The beauty of the line up was three high energy bands. This band has released five singles off their debut album Perfect flaws. These guys give an awesome show using the front stage riser to full advantage. Everywhere and Call The Doctor feature early in the set and the crowd are lapping it up. The band certainly knows how to rock and by the time Bullet For Your Gun and Fifteen Minutes are played the crowd is eating out of their hands. It’s been quite a while since they released their album in fact they released it as a deluxe edition with 5 more tracks just recently so we were treated to some new music which got the crowd buzzing. This was Black River Drive's first visit to Palmy and I’m pretty sure they will be back soon. The crowd’s response was awesome. This was an awesome lead in to the next band.

Luger Boa hit the stage and annihilated. There was not a person in the room standing still. Jimmy Christmas is one of my favourite front men in some ways reminding me of Mick Jagger in the way he strutted around the stage mic stand in hand. I love these guys and their latest album is nothing short of awesome so I was extremely amped to be seeing them perform some of the new material.

Now that Luger Boa has two albums out we were treated to a nice long set which was very cool as last time they played in Palmy all we had was Mutate and Die and the singles Paralysed, Lazy and Fuck The Kids although Fuck The Kids was a tour released single so was played live as well. This time we got treated to the classics like On My Mind, I Wanna Girlfriend and What Is Real it’s the new material which I’m really looking forward to and that’s where the real prize was.

They guys have now been playing as a band for a few years now as the first album was more a Jimmy and collaborators album and was such live for some time but now the band are now a solid crew and it really shines trough in what is a solid tight set. We got no less than ten tracks from the new album Paralysed, Lazy and New Hot Nights early in the set with one of my favourite tracks Downtown.

If you follow the concept of the new album it’s roughly about a night out on the town and getting rather rat faced and some of the adventures that ensue so it was in that bent I must admit I had one or two beverages during the set and was singing along with the rest of the crowd as we partied Luger Boa style. Fuck The Kids got the crowd going as Jimmy jumped into the crowd and we got our chance to join in the fun. I was lucky and had caught an early peek at the set list and so I was very much anticipating the last two songs of the set and when they came back for their encore I was nicely boiling and ready to explode. The opening chords of the Kiss classic Strutter sent shivers down my spine and the smile on my face grew and I sang along at the top of my voice.  Heheheh yes I’m one of those guys. What a joy it was and songs are made for singing.

Then the thrilling conclusion was 400a. For those that don’t know the song it’s very much a big night anthem with its chorus about getting fucked up a great sing along song leaving the crowd hoarse and Rock n rolled out. What an awesome night of Rock n roll from the three bands The Rascal Kings, Black River Drive and Luger Boa. They all putting on a massive show the crowd amassed loving every moment. The Royal hosted an awesome show.

 

About Luger Boa

Following the decision by New Zealands garage rock behemoth The D4 to go on extended hiatus, vocalist and guitarist Jimmy Christmas retreated into the wilds of Auckland's Central City and began work on a strange new project. At a secret location deep in Kingsland, he surrounded himself with the fragments and souvenirs of many years playing to and with the denizens of rock n roll's global underbelly, and began to write songs of confusion, resolution, exploration and evolution. In a studio that echoed the feverish workings of an exploding consciousness, he gathered together the SOUNDS he needed, and the words he believed made sense. He exited the lair only to cross the boiling morass of the Tasman Sea, to find like minds that leaked insanity, and returned to his HQ with their pulsating offsprings, which he then inserted into the heart of the experiment. From there, it was only a matter of time before he gave it life, and named it Luger Boa!

2009 saw the release of Luger Boa's debut long player 'Mutate or Die' which was critically acclaimed and featured massive radio hits 'What is Real?', 'I Wanna Girlfriend' and 'On My Mind' - the Rock Radio Song of the Year. Quickly known for incendiary live shows, In their short existance the band have played to countless thousands across the country alongside the like of Shihad, The Mint Chicks, The Living End, Airbourne, The Charlatans and Head Like A Hole, from packed clubs to arenas, as main support for the Kings Of Leon. Earlier this year Luger Boa headlined the sold out State Of Rock nationwide tour, where they debuted the new material from the forthcoming album 'New Hot Nights'.

The first single 'Lazy' is already a certified radio hit, and second salvo 'Paralyzed' is already racing up the charts. There is much more to come from the album, recorded in Auckland and Melbourne, and mixed by Mark Needham in LA, and Andy Baldwin in NYC.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Luger Boa

Releases

New Hot Nights
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Mutate Or Die!
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and His Motley Crew - Single Review: The Little Things
25 Aug 2018 // by terry666
I first came across Captain Festus McBoyle when he appeared on a television show performing a track Cheeky Little Monkey. Having enjoyed that track immensely, I had a little hunt and came across many other tracks from this hugely talented man.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem