7 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Adventures Of Mikejoffa - Eventures EP review

26 Jul 2011 // A review by Kerry Monaghan

Upon seeing Adventures of Mikejoffa at their Eventures EP launch gig at Medusa back in May, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect before they took to the stage, as I only had heard snippets of a song or two.

An hour and a half later I was grinning from ear to ear at what I had just heard, so I was excited to finally get my hands on their EP.

Making sure the volume was at full tilt before plopping in the CD; I was instantly taken by the chunky metal riffs that took over my speakers on ‘Covet’ a mish mash of crunchy metal riffs with steady rock overtone vocals and a lot of volume. ‘Realies’ is up next, with a similar mix, and added screaming vocals. Vocalist/guitarist, Doug Ten Broeke has a unique set of chops on this one, almost comical, but balanced with a great array of semi solos in-between.

Many fans won’t be disappointed at the variety this CD has to offer, with its eclectic mix of metal, grunge and acoustic offerings.  Thrown in, is the live track ‘acknowledging thoughts’ which starts off at a slower, melodic pace and rips into a solid riff bounded with harmonious double vocals from Doug Ten Broeke, guitarist, Ezekiel Clark and bassist, Aaron McCabe.

‘Lost’ is a sweet blend of Spanish acoustic and electric guitar solos and a nice mix of again harmonizing vocals, a great overall flow.

To cap things off, the hilariously titled ‘Sir Weetbix the obscured’ is best left for last, with its cool pulsing riffs and feel, it is definitely a crowd pleaser amongst most.

Well done boys, an epic release with plenty more great things to follow.

 

About The Adventures Of Mikejoffa

The Adventures of Mikejoffa was formed by Doug ten Broeke and Ezekiel Clark around 2007- 2008 in the Wellington region, with the first members being Aaron Gunn (The Heathen Collective) and Josh O' Brien (Deny).

In the small town Carterton, mikejoffa produced their first EP Eventures, released May 6 2011.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Adventures Of Mikejoffa

Releases

Miss Fortunes
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Eventures
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kerry Monaghan

Radius Kink - Album Review: Orange Room
24 Nov 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Radius Kink have been around for a while now with a few releases up their sleeve, so it’s hard to believe this ‘new’ release of theirs is actually ten years old. The five piece hailing from Christchurch is made up of father and daughter, Dawn Hendriske (vocals, guitar) Gary Hendriske (vocals, bass), a next door neighbour and couple of mates (in no particular order) Gordon Goodinson (vocals, guitar) and Simon Gemmill (drums, keyboard, guitar).
Read More...
Solo Ono - Single Review: Domesticated
13 Oct 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Solo Ono are one of those bands that has been kicking about since 2011, yet still feel like a hidden secret. Over the years they have released singles, a full-length self-titled album and a handful of EP’s.
Read More...
TOOMS - Single Review: Dead Birds
04 Aug 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
TOOMS is possible the most unique two piece I have recently had the pleasure of reviewing. With a nebulous genre that seems to fit where things aren’t supposed to fit, I like it a lot and so should you.
Read More...
Lakius - Single/Video Review: Here We Are Still
05 Jul 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Post-Industrial Metal duo Lakius have another explosive single, this time directly in reference to our country’s marijuana legislation falling short by a 2% margin last year.Here We Are Still is another assault to the senses.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Moving Pictures
23 May 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
If the name of Swerve City sounds familiar to you, you’re probably right in thinking that yes, it is in fact borrowed from a Deftones song. You might also recognize some of the line-up of Swerve City that were formally of/currently in bands like Fire at Will, Saints of Taboo and Armed in Advance (or for those that can remember way back, AKA, Stitches) Having just had the pleasure of reviewing Swerve City’s recent third single, Moving Pictures, I can tell listeners are in for a treat, especially if you’re a fan of alternative rock, metal undertones and pop sensibilities.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Damned Anthem
29 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
East York are back with their third single, Damned Anthem. With two singles firmly under belt, East York continue to go from strength to strength with their creativity and musicality.
Read More...
Scorn Of Creation - Album Review: Annihilation Cult
11 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Following the success of their debut album released in 2018, Scorn of Creation are back with another explosive piece of their unforgettable doom death metal with an edge, Annihilation Cult. With ten tracks full of creativity, guttural screams and intensity there is no mistaking the high energy chaos that descends upon your ears and sends you into oblivion.
Read More...
Etheran - EP Review: Doppelganger
26 Jan 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Etheran is a funky metal rock hybrid hailing from Christchurch. Formed in 2016, they officially started touring in 2018 and this is their first EP, released at the beginning of the month.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Monaghan

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem