2 Jul 2022

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ammp - From The Back of the Sun Album Review

20 Jun 2011 // A review by River Tucker
The first thing to strike me about Ammp’s debut album From The Back of the Sun, is the excellent packaging with nice photographs, song lyrics and production notes all stylishly presented in a 12 page foldout booklet. It’s good to see the bands professionalism doesn’t end with their musicianship.

Ammp is a band people would have heard of before, with six of the twelve tracks previously released as singles. Their primarily light-hearted pop rock sound is suitable for every occasion and therefore has huge commercial potential. Much of the underlying influence is similar in style to Coldplay, which, if you’re inclined to the hugely successful genre, is most enjoyable. There’s other prominent influences on this album, however it’s when Ammp breaks out of that pop rock mould that they really come into their own.

The star of the show is Andrew Masseurs. His voice is powerful and prominent in the mix but at times subtle and understated giving the band cohesion and warmth. The second song Sgt Mayhem is the epitome of lyrical minimalism and heartfelt emotion, which helps Ammp find scope and originality. Andrew delivers a well-rounded and sterling performance that is a joy to behold.

The innovative quality to the album shouldn’t be underestimated and becomes more apparent the further into this release you go. Ammp really starts to develop an original and unique style on track five Don’t Leave Me Here. This song alone is worth purchasing the album for and will find a special place in many hearts as an uplifting monumental love anthem. It grows on you with every listen.

Ammp’s U2 flavouring is more apparent on the last few tracks. Andrew Masseurs voice is sometimes uncannily like Bonos, while Mathew Powell encapsulates the Edges lovely dynamics with effective stabs and trills on his guitar. Jason Murphy’s solid bass lines stand out while Andrew Richardson on drums holds his own throughout the album.

Ammp is definitely a band with the potential to go all the way.
From The Back Of The Sun
View Track Listing

About Ammp

Ammp are a four piece Rock band from Wellington.

Releasing their debut album in 2011 From the back of the sun to lots of radio play the debut album had many singles and 9 music videos.

A few accolades along the way, Mat and Andy in TV2 songstar documentry, NZ on Air grants for All I Wanted, Ironman and an NZ on Air rebate for single Go. Six songs on The Rock, 2 on Classic hits and one on ZM. 3 tunes made it to the semis of the international unsigned Songwriting competition.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ammp


This Chaotic Symphony
Year: 2017
Type: EP
From The Back Of The Sun
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By River Tucker

Pale Lady - Single Review: Never Satisfied
07 Apr 2022 // by River Tucker
2017 Battle Of The Bands national champions Pale Lady have hit another home run with their latest single; Never Satisfied. Contrary to the song title, you can tell these four young guys who hail from Wellington are having shit loads of fun playing this fantastic song.
Slow Rage - Album Review: The Low-Down
14 Oct 2021 // by River Tucker
Every once in a while a release comes along that is just oozing with originality and that’s the case with Slow Rage’s debut album The Low-Down. Eleven tracks of pure musical goodness integrate a number of diverse styles that you cannot help but appreciate.
Magnalith - EP Review: Instrumentality
15 Apr 2021 // by River Tucker
If you ever had the inclination to record some music, heading over to Auckland’s LAB studios to lay down some drums is a good way to begin. Not only have they provided Mathew Bosher’s solo release with the depth of sound his chosen genres demand but they also ensure the contagious rhythms on Instrumentality, his debut EP under the moniker Magnalith, have the cut through required to get listener’s fully engaged.
Album Review: Garden Party Riot
24 Nov 2020 // by River Tucker
Garden Party Riot’s self-titled debut album is full of intense energy, odd time signatures and cohesiveness often only found in three-piece bands. But above anything else these nine original tracks are party inducing, which is exactly what we need in this time of doom and gloom.
3000AD - Album Review: The Void
06 Nov 2020 // by River Tucker
For a debut, The Void by 3000 AD is one hell of a kick arse release. Not only does it deliver everything you could ever want from a metal album, elements of punk and thrash will also satisfy the most hardcore head bangers amongst us.
Andrew Masseurs - Album Review: Fuzz Bomb
18 Oct 2020 // by River Tucker
If you like your music with prominent soaring vocals and driving rhythms that are sure to get you on the dance floor, Fuzz Bomb is the album for you. As well as playing all the instruments, Wellington based musician Andrew Masseurs, formally of New Zealand band Ammp, has also recorded and mixed the entire album.
Album Review: Grey Skies Over Rapture
28 Sep 2019 // by River Tucker
If you like your death metal laced with elements of thrash and razor sharp axes merged with unrelenting rhythms, the debut self-titled album Grey Skies Over Rapture is the release you’re looking for. It has a little bit of everything that makes the death metal genre great!
Ommeta - EP Review: Precostal
23 Aug 2019 // by River Tucker
Ommeta is the solo project of Auckland based musician and audio engineer, Luke Finlay. His debut release Precostal isn’t just about technical death metal.
View All Articles By River Tucker

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Kate Bush
    Harry Styles
    Cat Burns
    Doja Cat
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
    Luude And Mattafix
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem