1 Apr 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Crimson Rain - Why Single Review

06 Jun 2011 // A review by CEOMong

Presumably the remixed/revised/newest version of 'Why', as featured on the EP 'One By One'. It’s similar in just about every way; however the original for me is superior. If there was to be any change to make, I’d make the gax drops heavier and the vox more gritty and heartfelt.

There’s a lot of atmos in there, I personally prefer the cozy intimate feel of the original, yet it’s growing on me. The abrupt gax in the chorus I love so much kind of disappears as now it’s mixed in with some vocal overtones. It’s kind of watered down, yet zazzed up – I don’t know what to think.

... but then I listen to it more, and contrast the two versions, and I can appreciate the little variances. I like original because it’s simple, I just wonder if this version is a little too complex? It’s richer, granted, and a lot more gussied up, my question is ‘does it need it though?’ I don’t know, I’m no producer.  

I do like the ninja gax subliminals in the intro, and the huge sound that it evokes from the get-go. Interesting to see where they go with this.

I wonder ...
CEOMong

 

About Crimson Rain

May 2010... Crimson Rain was formed by good friends Pras K and Avi Pranish as an alternative band with the concept of not being genre specific. The songs are written with feel and groove with strong emphasis also placed on lyrical honesty and instrument melody.

Crimson Rain has been well received not only in New Zealand but also in Australia, Malaysia, Fiji and India. The band toured of Malaysia in July 2012.

Press:

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Crimson Rain

Releases

One by One
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem