7 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • The Adventures Of Mikejoffa - Eventures EP Release Gig @ Bar Medusa, Wellington on 6 May 2011

The Adventures Of Mikejoffa - Eventures EP Release Gig @ Bar Medusa, Wellington on 6 May 2011

25 May 2011 // A review by Kerry Monaghan

Making my way to Medusa bar on a freezing Friday night, I arrived with the happy notion of discounted drinks and my long awaited copy of Adventures Of Mikejoffa’s EP, Eventures, thanks to Doug ten Broeke. Familiar to Medusa’s small but perfectly formed size, I was a little taken back at the vacant space I could see all around me, wondering when or if it was going to start filling out by the time metal titans Red Dawn took to the stage.

Embodying a mix of old-school 80’s power metal with a twist of mainstream melody and thrash overtones, Red Dawn bashed out an impressive set with panache and fury, and true to form a lot of head banging and nods of approval all around- these guys were good.

After some slight confusion, I realised that the Nirvana covers band, Nirvanarama were a no show, disappointment ensued as it would have been a great mix to the gig, so up next was three piece wonders, Machine King. Hailing from Palmerston North, Machine King (formally known as Stone Gods) are an eclectic mix of psychedelic rock infused with big emphasis on crunchy bluesy riffs that wouldn’t look out of place on a Kyuss album. Their set consisted of a handful of acid-tripping gems before sound problems got the better of them and in typical rock star fashion (reminiscent of any Nirvana footage captured) bassist, James flinging his bass haphazardly into his amp and once more for good measure before bashing it some more and walking off stage cursing and leaving his band mates amused but equally frustrated at the premature end to their set.

By the time The Adventures Of Mikejoffa took to the stage the crowd was well and truly amped. Inching my way through the now crowded Medusa, camera in one hand and a grin on my face, the boys threw themselves into rock star mode and turned on their amps as well as the crowd. A great mix of hard rock and crisp metal, wispy vocals shredded with howls and screams blending hard riffs sums up Adventures of Mikejoffa best.

Vocalist Doug ten Broeke and his witty banter between songs made for an enjoyable show as the songs came thick and fast. Kicking off with the awesome ‘Covet’ Doug, guitarist, Ezekiel and bassist Azza work together on perfect synchronised vocals and sweated their way through a blinding set including the hilarious ‘Sir Weetbix the obscured’ (aptly named after a friend called Weetbix) and played a solid mix, already showing prominent success in Wellington’s metal community. Capturing some great moments on camera, it was a great turn out, with good things to follow from Adventures of Mikejoffa- watch this space. Cheers guys!

 

About The Adventures Of Mikejoffa

The Adventures of Mikejoffa was formed by Doug ten Broeke and Ezekiel Clark around 2007- 2008 in the Wellington region, with the first members being Aaron Gunn (The Heathen Collective) and Josh O' Brien (Deny).

In the small town Carterton, mikejoffa produced their first EP Eventures, released May 6 2011.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Adventures Of Mikejoffa

Releases

Miss Fortunes
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Eventures
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kerry Monaghan

Radius Kink - Album Review: Orange Room
24 Nov 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Radius Kink have been around for a while now with a few releases up their sleeve, so it’s hard to believe this ‘new’ release of theirs is actually ten years old. The five piece hailing from Christchurch is made up of father and daughter, Dawn Hendriske (vocals, guitar) Gary Hendriske (vocals, bass), a next door neighbour and couple of mates (in no particular order) Gordon Goodinson (vocals, guitar) and Simon Gemmill (drums, keyboard, guitar).
Read More...
Solo Ono - Single Review: Domesticated
13 Oct 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Solo Ono are one of those bands that has been kicking about since 2011, yet still feel like a hidden secret. Over the years they have released singles, a full-length self-titled album and a handful of EP’s.
Read More...
TOOMS - Single Review: Dead Birds
04 Aug 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
TOOMS is possible the most unique two piece I have recently had the pleasure of reviewing. With a nebulous genre that seems to fit where things aren’t supposed to fit, I like it a lot and so should you.
Read More...
Lakius - Single/Video Review: Here We Are Still
05 Jul 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Post-Industrial Metal duo Lakius have another explosive single, this time directly in reference to our country’s marijuana legislation falling short by a 2% margin last year.Here We Are Still is another assault to the senses.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Moving Pictures
23 May 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
If the name of Swerve City sounds familiar to you, you’re probably right in thinking that yes, it is in fact borrowed from a Deftones song. You might also recognize some of the line-up of Swerve City that were formally of/currently in bands like Fire at Will, Saints of Taboo and Armed in Advance (or for those that can remember way back, AKA, Stitches) Having just had the pleasure of reviewing Swerve City’s recent third single, Moving Pictures, I can tell listeners are in for a treat, especially if you’re a fan of alternative rock, metal undertones and pop sensibilities.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Damned Anthem
29 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
East York are back with their third single, Damned Anthem. With two singles firmly under belt, East York continue to go from strength to strength with their creativity and musicality.
Read More...
Scorn Of Creation - Album Review: Annihilation Cult
11 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Following the success of their debut album released in 2018, Scorn of Creation are back with another explosive piece of their unforgettable doom death metal with an edge, Annihilation Cult. With ten tracks full of creativity, guttural screams and intensity there is no mistaking the high energy chaos that descends upon your ears and sends you into oblivion.
Read More...
Etheran - EP Review: Doppelganger
26 Jan 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Etheran is a funky metal rock hybrid hailing from Christchurch. Formed in 2016, they officially started touring in 2018 and this is their first EP, released at the beginning of the month.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Monaghan

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem