29 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miss Black & The Light - Black Light Album Review

13 May 2011 // A review by JohnS

The cold breath of winter is whispering at the door, so for me this means spending more time at home, curled in front of the fire with some choice kiwi sounds heating my soul and currently filling the void is the debut album from Miss Black and the Light.

Miss Black (aka Ngatapa Black) is a bilingual singer songwriter more commonly found working for Maori television, but thankfully found time to bring us this unique blend of kiwiana entitled Black Light. Influences from India Arie, Jill Scott and Erykah Badu are felt throughout the album without losing her own intense flavour and seams to magically step from Maori to English without missing a beat. 

Miss Black doesn’t just do this alone though, band members, Her band The Light, is a talented mix from other bands such as Ardijah, Tohu and Che Fu and The Krates. 

Included on this album is the Maori language single, He Maimai Aroha which was co-written with fellow broadcaster Julian Wilcox and music supplied by Shane Taipari, was a finalist in the contemporary Maori music category, the APRA Maioha Award, of last year’s APRA Silver Scroll Awards.

Enough background, this album surprised me with its catchy melodies that move you along while singing along (in my case, quite badly) and the whole family joining in. The album starting off with a Roots feel and slowly moving more into a jazz-blend feel that keeps you hooked.

This is a really great piece of Aotearoa packed into an album that can be enjoyed by the whole whanau. Give it a go if you’re into tones of India Arie, Jill Scott and Erykah Badu and you won’t be disappointed.

Black Light
View Track Listing
 

About Miss Black & The Light

Singer-songwriter Ngatapa Black aka Miss Black, the daughter of Whirimako Black, is a musician on the rise.

Miss Black has a truly mesmerizing voice, an incredible amount of texture and tone while simultaneously managing to silkily sooth your soul and make you nod your head. Some of her influences include Erykah Badu, India Arie and Jill Scott.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miss Black & The Light

Releases

Black Light
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • LATE NIGHT TALKING
    Harry Styles
  • MATILDA
    Harry Styles
  • MUSIC FOR A SUSHI RESTAURANT
    Harry Styles
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem