16 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Crimson Rain - The Mask Within - Single Review

14 Apr 2011 // A review by CEOMong

Single Review – Crimson Rain – The Mask Within (4:58)

A gax-heavy gravid hook intro melts on in to somewhat bluesy melodic vox, before a steady, yet short, climb into the first chorus – man I’m getting chills! Coasting on down to the next verse, wicked awesome transitions, no harshness drops, just silk city the whole way through. Not all bands can pull this off; these guys make it sound really easy and damned awesome.

Nice melodic velvety riff about 3 mins in lends a nice rest, changing pace without harshing the buzz. Nice ride up to a cathartic vocal peak, then rock on into a wickedly sharp gax outro to ease you out. Whoa. Epic.

The almost eerie, somehow space-filled, vox gives this tune real immensity. I especially like the mature huge feel and pace of this track, I also really like the mastering, and how all band members are seamlessly intertwined and yet have their own shining moments throughout. Awesome. The more I hear the more I want to hear, if this single is anything to go by, the next album is going to rule.

Keep eyes/ears peeled for the Rain, people.

Unmask thyself,
CEOMong

 

About Crimson Rain

May 2010... Crimson Rain was formed by good friends Pras K and Avi Pranish as an alternative band with the concept of not being genre specific. The songs are written with feel and groove with strong emphasis also placed on lyrical honesty and instrument melody.

Crimson Rain has been well received not only in New Zealand but also in Australia, Malaysia, Fiji and India. The band toured of Malaysia in July 2012.

Press:

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Crimson Rain

Releases

One by One
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem