16 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Luger Boa - Rock n Roll Riot @ The Royal, Palmerston North - 26/11/2010

05 Dec 2010 // A review by terry666

The Earlybirds, The Checks and Luger Boa. Rock n Roll Riot. The Earlybirds have a Rock sound but still very pop influenced reminding me at times of Pluto and Evermore. The Checks have almost a bluesy Rock feel and Luger Boa tend to have a slightly more Punk edge to their Rock n roll so three different variations of Rock. I was very excited when I entered The Royal looking forward to a great night of Rock n Roll fun and that’s exactly what I got.

The crowd was just starting to pick up when The Earlybirds opened up their set and very quickly they had the crowd moving. It’s definitely Pop Indie with a Rock edge and they were a perfect opening act to start the blood pumping and passions build. 'Runaway', 'Low' and 'I Killed The DJ' drove the crowd to a frenzy and by the end of the set the crowd was eating out of their hands. They reminded me a lot of another awesome Indie band from Auckland Pluto. The Earlybirds put on a great show and I am really looking forward to seeing them again sometime soon.

The Checks then turned it up a notch. Their flavour of Rock n roll is a little more Blues orientated Rock but with the swagger of Modern British Rock. Their shows with Oasis shine through especially with Ed their singer.  Ed very much comes across like Liam Gallagher but with a little more soul and a little less anger. 'Take Me There' from 'Hunting Whales' their 2007 album probably got the best response but by the end of their set they had worked the crowd into a Rock n roll frenzy getting us ready for the final assault by Luger Boa.

I’ve been waiting to see Luger Boa for quite some time. I had seen Jimmy Christmas with his previous band The D4 but hadn’t quite gotten the chance to see Luger Boa. The last 2 singles 'Lazy' and 'Paralysed' had got my attention and to me seemed a bit rockier than the previous album 'Mutate and Die' so I was very keen to see them. From the start you knew it was going to get crazy as he stood on the speaker stack drinking a beer and gazing across the crowd before he leapt down and brought the final act of the Rock n Roll Riot. What a front man and what a band. He played 'Lazy' and 'Paralysed' early on in the set and the crowd loved it. Everybody sang along to 'On My Mind', 'I Wanna Girlfriend' and 'What Is Real?'  And in true Rock n Roll style we even got an encore. Luger Boa brought the Rock n Roll Riot to a close to great applause.

My ears were left ringing as I left The Royal, but what a great night of Rock n roll from some awesome Kiwi Rock bands each bringing on the Rock n roll Riot.

 

About Luger Boa

Following the decision by New Zealands garage rock behemoth The D4 to go on extended hiatus, vocalist and guitarist Jimmy Christmas retreated into the wilds of Auckland's Central City and began work on a strange new project. At a secret location deep in Kingsland, he surrounded himself with the fragments and souvenirs of many years playing to and with the denizens of rock n roll's global underbelly, and began to write songs of confusion, resolution, exploration and evolution. In a studio that echoed the feverish workings of an exploding consciousness, he gathered together the SOUNDS he needed, and the words he believed made sense. He exited the lair only to cross the boiling morass of the Tasman Sea, to find like minds that leaked insanity, and returned to his HQ with their pulsating offsprings, which he then inserted into the heart of the experiment. From there, it was only a matter of time before he gave it life, and named it Luger Boa!

2009 saw the release of Luger Boa's debut long player 'Mutate or Die' which was critically acclaimed and featured massive radio hits 'What is Real?', 'I Wanna Girlfriend' and 'On My Mind' - the Rock Radio Song of the Year. Quickly known for incendiary live shows, In their short existance the band have played to countless thousands across the country alongside the like of Shihad, The Mint Chicks, The Living End, Airbourne, The Charlatans and Head Like A Hole, from packed clubs to arenas, as main support for the Kings Of Leon. Earlier this year Luger Boa headlined the sold out State Of Rock nationwide tour, where they debuted the new material from the forthcoming album 'New Hot Nights'.

The first single 'Lazy' is already a certified radio hit, and second salvo 'Paralyzed' is already racing up the charts. There is much more to come from the album, recorded in Auckland and Melbourne, and mixed by Mark Needham in LA, and Andy Baldwin in NYC.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Luger Boa

Releases

New Hot Nights
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Mutate Or Die!
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem