29 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tainted - Tainted 20/11/2010 Scorpio Party, The Basement, New Plymouth

01 Dec 2010 // A review by terry666

Tainted - 20/11/2010 @ Scorpio Party, The Basement, New Plymouth

It's a little drive up from Palmy to the Naki but it was well worth the ride. It was my first venture to the infamous Scorpio Party and I must say I was very excited. I arrived late but got there in time to see Dormitabo closing their set. It was pretty impressive going from a fast Metal core sound to almost Tool sounding moments.

Cage Demise were up next in a shortened set as there were still two more bands to come and the night was sliding away fast. At breakneck speed they flew through about 7 or 8 songs barely stopping for a moment to breath. They were in fine form once again getting the crowd into it with the pit starting to get excited.

I had seen Just One Fix once before when they had opened up for Korn a few years back and I was real keen to see them again. Riccardo their singer is like a man possessed as he growls from the stage. 'Red Dawn' and 'Blood Horizon' from their latest album were received well with the pit starting to stir and devils horns everywhere and once they played 'Cult of the Vampire' there wasn’t a head not banging in the room. Riccardo showed why his was the singer in 'Cult of the Vampire' with his nod to King Diamond I was personally blown away. Awesome set with mixture of old and new tracks can’t wait to see these guys again.

I have always wanted to see Tainted as they have been around for quite some time and have opened for some big names. Tainted have definitely learned a thing or two from the gigs they have played opening for the likes of Trivium, Whitechapel, Iron Maiden and Metallica. Slim their singer is like the energizer bunny, running around like a madman.  His sound reminds me very much of Mark hunter from Chimeira. To start the set he ran out of nowhere onto the stage, screamed and then tore off outside screaming at them to get inside. Later on he was running down the bar and running through the crowd singing to individual members of the crowd. Man they put on an impressive show. Hair was flying everywhere as they stood side by side pulling off some impressive Windmills. They have a brutal sound although being very original had nods to Kiwi bands like 8 Foot Sativa and leanings towards Metal core. In an all too short a set I was impressed with these guys hugely and will definitely travel again to see them.

Bring on the next Scorpio Party!

 

About Tainted

Tainted are a 5 piece metal band from Christchurch, they have played alongside the likes of Blindspott, 8 Foot Sativa, Sinate, State of Integrity (AUS) and Parkway Drive (AUS), to name a few.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tainted

Releases

Into Temptation
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Carved And Created
Year: 2008
Type: Album
The Awakening
Year: 2006
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem