30 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Steriogram - Taping The Radio | Album Review

25 Nov 2010 // A review by amandashootsbands

Oh dear...it seems I’m showing my age when I say this, but I remember when Steriogram first hit the scene eleven years ago now.  They were young, silly and full of hits that you could barely sing along to due to the energetic longhaired hooligan, Tyson Kennedy. In 2004, their debut album found the shelves with an outstanding response, allowing the band to release a grand total of six tracks to our radio airwaves, along with an array of colorful videos, which are still getting a hammering today.

Next came This Is Not The Target Market, followed by the formation of front man, Brad Carter’s band, Pistol Youth, and then Kennedy’s move to New York.  To the naked eye things appeared to die down for a while on the Steriogram front, but all is good and well with the creation of their latest album to be released in New Zealand – Taping The Radio.

For those of you addicted toSchmack!, you’ll be pleased to learn that there’s approximately four ounces on the album just waiting for you to inject directly into your bloodstream.  With tracks like Shamoe, Skinny Runt Revolution, Texas Beauties and the ever popular single, White Trash, your fix will most likely be filled to give way to an evolved sound that the band have produced on the eleven track disc.

Third tune, Taping The Radioeases you into the new sound, followed by Ready For Action, which has a tinge of Pistol Youth to it.  They’re both slower than the ‘typical gram’ and may confuse some first-time listeners who are used the lads’ singles. Indie hip-hop artist, Random Impulse makes an appearance in Kevvo, which made me feel a tiny bit uncomfortable at first listen, but his part is only a short-sharp prick, and it’s now become one of my favorite bits on the disc.

No Ordinary Man and Moving On are ridiculously easy to get into and I have no doubt that you’ll be singing along come the end these two.  Even if you are just ‘woah-yeahing’, you’ll be feeling a little more in tune with their sound that seems to have taken quite some influence from Carter’s LA-based project.

I’m not such a fan of drinking whiskey, and it seems I’m the same when it comes to listening to the song.  Possibly due to the fact that it brings back so many bad memories of late nights in dingy pubs with alcohol-soaked floors, mixed with the strong scent of cigarettes and BO coming from ‘yucky old men’.  In saying all that, this is a fun tune and I can imagine it being quite the hit with the kids.  Two Day Hangover conveniently finishes the album – a hard and fast one showing of Kennedy’s much-loved energy that I’ve come to miss.  Taping The Radio is good, but I think I need a hit of Schmack! to finish me off.

Words by Amanda Ratcliffe

 

About Steriogram

The story of Steriogram begins in New Zealand's North Island, June of 1999. Brad and Jake, longtime friends from a tiny town called Whangarei meet up with Tim and Tyson who have been friends for years in Auckland, and they start playing shows around the area as a melodic rock four-piece. Making a name for themselves with a manic live show they quickly start to build a loyal local following.

They start touring, booking and organising everything themselves while devoting less and less time to day jobs. Meanwhile the sound is developing as Tyson starts bringing his rap vocals into the mix. Realising the need for a full-time drummer, they enlist mutual friend Jared who actually OWNS a drumkit.

The band releases the song White Trash in August 2001 on their own label, Sumo Music and shoots the White Trash video on a shoestring budget and a whole lot of favours. The song brings in airplay on various local and nationwide NZ radio stations as well as a good amount of Music Television play.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Steriogram

Releases

Taping The Radio
Year: 2010
Type: Album
This Is Not The Target Market
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Schmack!
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Sing The Night Away
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By amandashootsbands

Parachute 2014 Highlights
29 Jan 2014 // by amandashootsbands
Words by Amanda Ratcliffe - AKA amandashootsbands Straight from the mouth of Mr. Mark de Jong himself, I learned that this was the 24th Parachute Music Festival, and it is growing larger every year it’s held at the Mystery Creek venue in Hamilton.
Read More...
Parachute 2013 Review!!!
30 Jan 2013 // by amandashootsbands
Today’s review is brought to you by the letter F, and the number 7.  The F word...
Read More...
The top ten cool things about Saturday at Parachute 2012
02 Feb 2012 // by amandashootsbands
1. I’ve been to a number of Midnight Youth shows over the past few years, so it was rather lovely to sit and enjoy a few snippets from the front-man himself, Jeremy Redmore at Noise.
Read More...
A Day At Parachute 2011
30 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Last week I covered Big Day Out starting off mentioning that I’d been to seven of the Auckland events in seven years, which seemed to go down quite well with readers.  So for Parachute this year, I’m going to do the same, but different because Parachute will always be a little different to the rest of the festivals here in New Zealand.
Read More...
Big Day Out 2011
25 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Big Day Out 2011 was my seventh in seven years, and if you know a thing or two about numbers and their spiritual meaning, this one is particularly magical.  I can’t confirm such beliefs, as my seventh experience definitely had its share of crappy moments, but don’t cry pussycat – there were good times too.
Read More...
Vodafone NZ Music Awards 2010
14 Oct 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Very much the fan of a pretty frock, I was in heaven at the 45th New Zealand Music Awards last Thursday evening at the Vector Arena.  The red carpet was filled with so many beautiful people that it was hard to know where to look, let alone who to shoot.
Read More...
Kids Of 88 - Sugarpills | Album Review
26 Sep 2010 // by amandashootsbands
When a band describes their music as 'a cross between a late 80s police drama intro theme and a sophisticated super hussy', it's pretty much impossible to hold onto that curiosity for long, before delving in to find out who and what these people are all about. So did curiosity kill this kitty after getting her paws on Kids of 88's debut album, Sugarpills?
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Fire Escape | EP Review
20 Sep 2010 // by amandashootsbands
After listening to and adoring the wondrous tunes of David Kelley’s ‘project’, 2 a.m.
Read More...
View All Articles By amandashootsbands

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem