21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Crimson Rain - One By One EP Review

12 Oct 2010 // A review by CEOMong

A tantalisingly short, albeit wickedly sweet, album; laden with choppy bassy rhythmic bits and precise gax, all nicely mixed with some diverse vox. I can’t wait to hear a whole album, or even better, see them live.

Track 1: Intro – opens into what at first sounds like rap, before being smacked down - just soon enough to prevent the eject button being pressed in a damned hurry! Introduces the band in the best way I’ve ever heard. Wickedly done!

Track 2: For You – a nice melodic velvet heavy intro, nice precise balanced gax and rhythms. Strong vox neither overwhelmed by the rest of the band, nor overbalanced. Nice flow throughout, no huge staggering crescendos but no uncomfortable lulls either – the whole track is really fucking well done. I’ll be desk drumming for ages.

Track 3: Break – choice full gax intro, falling into a heavy & tweaky hook. Nice. Same beasty chorus, angry and powerful. Song that gives the CD its name.  

Track 4: Why – more melodic and sombre intro. Delicate drum and bass accompanied by gentle gax. Staunch break launches into the chorus, which climbs on up and delivers a wicked ass-kicking.

Track 5: Dreams Of Us – delicate and rich gax intro, gradually and easily rolls into a sweltering beast of a beat as the rhythm section joins on in. Another desk drumming track! Tweaky little outro to finish a rather wicked little album.

The ants are marching …
CEOMong

 

About Crimson Rain

May 2010... Crimson Rain was formed by good friends Pras K and Avi Pranish as an alternative band with the concept of not being genre specific. The songs are written with feel and groove with strong emphasis also placed on lyrical honesty and instrument melody.

Crimson Rain has been well received not only in New Zealand but also in Australia, Malaysia, Fiji and India. The band toured of Malaysia in July 2012.

Press:

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Crimson Rain

Releases

One by One
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem