11 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devils Elbow - Sand On Chrome Album Review

12 Sep 2010 // A review by Bela

With a name like Devils Elbow, I wasn't too sure what to expect from this album. It left me pleasantly surprised.

Each song had a unique little something that made it hold its own amongst the rest of the tracks, not for this band the yawn inducing sticking with the same sound through the entire album! Rather there was good sound, well mixed and a nice blend of country/rock with a definite vibe of early Rolling Stones for good measure. Even more impressive when you take into account the heart of this band is two very talented musicians.

With the opening track of 'Brainstorm' delivering a solid energy hit, my attention was instantly captivated and the toe tapping started. As the album progressed - well you know it's always a good sign when you try to sing along to something - just need a few more spins on the ipod so that I can actually learn the words!
The album title song 'Sand On Chrome' is one that stands out, but I think my favourite of the album had to be 'When You're On Top', the blend of both male and female voices was beautiful.
There's going to be a tour coming up over the summer from what I have read, and I definitely think it's going to be one worth checking out - here's hoping it comes through Palmy North!
Sand On Chrome
View Track Listing
 

About Devils Elbow

Devils Elbow hail from the sunny Hawkes Bay, New Zealand - 'land of the long white cloud'. Formed in 2007 the bands sound has been described as punk-influenced, alt. country-flavoured, electric-folk, garage rock 'n roll. Dig.

"There’s just a lot of class on display here, great work from all band members,
great writing, arrangements and production." - Simon Sweetman, Off The Tracks

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devils Elbow

Releases

ID
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Golden Flame
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Absolute Domain
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Broken Record Syndrome
Year: 2012
Type: EP
These Days
Year: 2011
Type: EP
KO
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Sand On Chrome
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Bela

Ruby Frost - Moonlight EP Review
09 Mar 2011 // by Bela
So this is not normally the type of music I would be drawn to. After listening to this 4 track EP numerous times over, I think that it's time to broaden my horizons.
Read More...
Surf Friends - Confusion Album Review
13 Oct 2010 // by Bela
So with the bright, cartoon album cover of 'Confusion' I wasn't sure what to expect, or even what genre of music this would be. Definitely did not expect not what was delivered.
Read More...
I Am Giant - City Limits/Neon Sunrise EP Review
05 Jul 2010 // by Bela
I already had a taste for the music of I Am Giant after seeing the promos on C4. This EP definitely lives up to all expectations I had.
Read More...
The Grove St Tapes EP Review
23 May 2010 // by Bela
I had never heard of The Managers before being given this album to review, and now that I've heard it all I can think is "why on earth not??!" These guys by rights should be all over the radio and C4.
Read More...
Salon Kingsadore - 'Mountain Rescue' album review
16 Mar 2010 // by Bela
This latest album from Salon Kingsadore is without a doubt, a must have for music lovers. The quirky song titles intrigued me before I even began to listen.
Read More...
Green Like Go - self titled EP review
23 Feb 2010 // by Bela
Before you even hear the music, the EP for Green Like Go visually stands out. The recycled cardboard sleeve is distinctive, and the cover art is quirky.
Read More...
Fly My Pretties 'A Story' Encore, Michael Fowler Centre Wellington 5/12/09
15 Dec 2009 // by Bela
If there was ever a show to go to, Fly My Pretties “A Story” is the one for me. It started off a bit slowly, the show was running late so despite being promoted as doors opening at 7.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bela

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem