24 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stardrunk - Stardrunk Album Release - Complete Control @ Studio, Auckland

27 Aug 2004 // A review by Carl Hayman
Last night I rocked along to hear Stardrunk at The Studio bar on K Road to release their new album Complete Control. I pitched up about 9.30 to catch the end of Ruptus Jack’s performance.

Ruptus Jack are a good 5 piece mainstream rock band.
I had heard the name, but never had the opportunity to see Ruptus Jack play live. I was impressed – they were very tight. They have some catchy rock riff’s, not too thrashy, and some good melodic vocals. Unfortunately there was a bit of a lack of crowd for Ruptus Jack’s performance, so the atmosphere wasn’t great, but I think all in all Ruptus Jack had a good solid live sound – pleasing to the ears, and with some good phat guitar sounds !

Milk Milk Lemonade were up second. This was something a bit different, well different on today’s scene anyway. Milk Milk Lemonade are a three piece rock band who lend them towards a more ‘80s sound. I thought Milk Milk Lemonade were great – good strong vocals, nice solid drum hook, and solid driving bass. Once again crowd support was lacking – although not to discredit from Milk Milk Lemonade, they played strong, and did well. They ultimately needed to get into the performance a little more to create a wicked look on stage, but it’s the old trade off of “look wicked” or “play wicked”.

Stardrunk kicked off last, about 11.30pm. It was a little late for me, and I was starting to get tired – that us until Stardrunk hit the stage with a HUGE amount of energy and power! Stardrunk's crowd wasn’t too shabby, probably 100 or so people lined the floor – although it probably didn’t look like it in a big venue. During there first song, the singer unfortunately got his mic lead tangled around the mic stand, but still gave it everything! I don’t know how they managed to keep there energy up, and still give a tight performance at that time of night. The PA was quite muffled, but when you walked upstairs, it was crystal clear. I have a feeling this is because all you could hear when you were on the downstairs floor, was the subs as the rest of the PA is aimed at the upstairs lounge. In my opinion, for an unsigned band, Stardrunk did an awesome job of this album release. They had great advertising, a great venue, great bands, and gave an impressive performance. I'm sure people will be really looking forward to their Hamilton and Tauranga album release parties.

Written by Carl.
 

About Stardrunk

Stardrunk won 'Best Original Artist' at the 2001 Bay Of Plenty music awards.

A typical Stardrunk Band Practice: Dan: "Have you seen my new bass amp? I'm going to do a sausage sizzle on it at our next gig". Aden: "You can sizzle my sausage if you want". Dylan: "Hey Aden, I'm going to throw all your effects pedals away". Aden: "Shut your face. They're my sound". Andrew: "I'm going to play some fucked up chords and never repeat anything". - Dylan "Just play a big fat beat". Dylan: "Nah - I'd rather keep playing like a girl if that's alright?" Dan: "Andrew could you repeat that vocal 7 times so we could get that onto the radio?" Andrew: "Fuck that".

Stardrunk has now disbanded.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stardrunk

Releases

Complete Control
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Overstay
Year: 2001
Type: EP
Stardrunk
Year: 1999
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem