25 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hellborne - Hellborne Final Gig Review 1 - 3 Sept 10 - The Royal, Palmerston North

07 Sep 2010 // A review by CEOMong

I strolled on in to the Royal on a crisp, expectant, and and oddly sober night, one Friday in dirty ole Swamp Central, to find a dedicated, expectant, and impressive crowd. After making the customary exchange at the door, I was the proud owner of a red stamp, and more importantly, Hellborne's final self-titled CD – one with some stunning artwork and even more stunning content. But I obviously didn't find that out till later, much much later …

Unfortunately I was my usual tardy self, even though I was sober, so I missed Lynchway. Fortunately however, I was early enough to witness Cage Demise in all their thrash-fuelled glory – man those dudes put on one wicked show, full of intensity and raw, ripped power. A very technical performance, beset at times by banter resulting from dropped cues and such, still a stirling show that I would not hesitate to witness once again – next time from deep in the mosh!

Project Blood then emerged from the darkness of yon backstage area, and unleashed some intensely euro-feeling industrial metal – heavy with trippy samples and utterly astounding. It strikes me still how incredibly difficult it must be to perform in this way – no space for fuck-ups!

Hellborne then triumphantly took the stage, well after midnight, and launched right on in to 'Lost Boy'. A staunch back-catalog was thrown down for the sweaty bare-chested throng, including 'Fuck You', 'Poverty', and 'Raping of Society', all mixed nicely with a couple of new songs – 'Swamp King' and 'Dead or Nothing New' – ending the set with 'One More' (I know, ironic huh?).

The guys bowed to the pressure for an encore, and belted out one of my personal favourites to finish their last ever set – 'Bed of Gold'. Awesome. It still gives me chills. Full credit to the guys – Chris in particular who allegedly had been drinking since 10am (all the more impressive is that they were all still going at 5.30am!). Hellborne'll be sadly missed, I'm sure I'm not alone in wishing them the best for the future.

2am rolls round, the lights go up, the place empties out, the customary half-shouted misunderstood conversations ensue with the regulars one encounters at such events, one last drink, and off out the door I go – satisfied, sore, and stunned.

All in all, I'm fucking stoked to have witnessed three wicked bands, and especially so to be able to proudly say I was one of the privileged swamp rats to have seen Hellborne one last time.

Can't you please play just one more?
CEOMong.

 

About Hellborne

Hellborne formed in August 2002 from other local bands including Turbostill, Sense_, 7.62 Short and The Hendersons.

They have been gigging around the North Island since November 2002 having played in Palmerston North, Wellington, Napier, New Plymouth, Gisborne and Auckland.

They released a self-financed CD Raping of Society in July 2003 with seven original tracks and three remixes: two by Sense_ and one by Faker.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hellborne

Releases

Hellborne
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Fuck You
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Raping of Society
Year: 2003
Type: Album

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem