21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Cairo Knife Fight - Cairo Knife Fight EP Review

07 Aug 2010 // A review by amandashootsbands

Words by Amanda Ratcliffe

What do Anika Moa, Weta and Fat Freddy’s Drop all have in common? Would you be surprised if I said rock? Probably, but I’m not making it up, people… I could never tell a lie like that to your sweet innocent faces. 

The band is Cairo Knife Fight which was lovingly developed by Mr Nick Gaffaney of Goldenhorse, Dimmer and Hollie Smith fame – not to forget a couple of the others listed above. Add into the mix Mr Aaron Tokona of Weta, and you’ve got one of New Zealand’s most unique and bangin’ live acts.

Why so unique, and why so bangin’? Imagine the drummer getting centre stage for a change. Doing his thing up the front, all while producing outstanding vocals that even Brandon Flowers would be envious of. That’s Cairo Knife Fight, and this is the now duo’s self-titled debut EP.

Long-time listeners will be aware of Iron – their first album, which was released in 2009. It was brought to our ears with a couple of other members who have since gone on to focus on other projects, leaving Gaffaney and Tokona to experiment with the unexpected. Their new EP comes with a sound and show that is as Jem would say, truly truly truly outrageous.

Describing their sound as “rock with beats and bass”, Big Face is just that. With nearly a two minute guitar-heavy intro, I was expecting some raw and grotty vocals – which is kinda’ nice when it’s done right. But much to the delight of my delicate Saturday morning ears, Gaffaney turns it around with devilishly sweet vocals surely inspired by Matthew Bellamey of Muse.

Believing that “the music is as important as the melody and lyrics”, it’s obvious that these lads aren’t just saying that to keep ‘the people’ happy. This Is Love is the perfect example of such a statement with a precise mix of danceable beats and vocals that had the band noticed by Them Crooked Vultures earlier in the year - gaining them an opening spot at their NZ shows.

Now, if you’re a fan of Dimmer, you’ll most likely enjoy All I Ever Wanted, which boasts that familiar rock sound from Aotearoa. The track is both easy to listen to with lyrics that are completely honest like “All I ever wanted was you, but you made it so hard”.

Last track on the 25 minute long disc is The Happy Couple, which feels a little more experimental at the beginning before getting down and dirty with that typical Cairo Knife Fight sound that is gaining more and more popularity by the day.

I imagine long-time fans of these guys, will be well impressed with such a ‘follow-up’ (if you can call it that) to their debut album released last year, and newbies will be both shocked and amazed that they’ve not heard of them sooner. Give it a whack.

 

Releases

Seven
Year: 2017
Type: Album
The Isolator
Year: 2015
Type: EP
The Colossus
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Cairo Knife Fight II
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Cairo Knife Fight
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Iron
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By amandashootsbands

Parachute 2014 Highlights
29 Jan 2014 // by amandashootsbands
Words by Amanda Ratcliffe - AKA amandashootsbands Straight from the mouth of Mr. Mark de Jong himself, I learned that this was the 24th Parachute Music Festival, and it is growing larger every year it’s held at the Mystery Creek venue in Hamilton.
Read More...
Parachute 2013 Review!!!
30 Jan 2013 // by amandashootsbands
Today’s review is brought to you by the letter F, and the number 7.  The F word...
Read More...
The top ten cool things about Saturday at Parachute 2012
02 Feb 2012 // by amandashootsbands
1. I’ve been to a number of Midnight Youth shows over the past few years, so it was rather lovely to sit and enjoy a few snippets from the front-man himself, Jeremy Redmore at Noise.
Read More...
A Day At Parachute 2011
30 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Last week I covered Big Day Out starting off mentioning that I’d been to seven of the Auckland events in seven years, which seemed to go down quite well with readers.  So for Parachute this year, I’m going to do the same, but different because Parachute will always be a little different to the rest of the festivals here in New Zealand.
Read More...
Big Day Out 2011
25 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Big Day Out 2011 was my seventh in seven years, and if you know a thing or two about numbers and their spiritual meaning, this one is particularly magical.  I can’t confirm such beliefs, as my seventh experience definitely had its share of crappy moments, but don’t cry pussycat – there were good times too.
Read More...
Steriogram - Taping The Radio | Album Review
25 Nov 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Oh dear...it seems I’m showing my age when I say this, but I remember when Steriogram first hit the scene eleven years ago now.
Read More...
Vodafone NZ Music Awards 2010
14 Oct 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Very much the fan of a pretty frock, I was in heaven at the 45th New Zealand Music Awards last Thursday evening at the Vector Arena.  The red carpet was filled with so many beautiful people that it was hard to know where to look, let alone who to shoot.
Read More...
Kids Of 88 - Sugarpills | Album Review
26 Sep 2010 // by amandashootsbands
When a band describes their music as 'a cross between a late 80s police drama intro theme and a sophisticated super hussy', it's pretty much impossible to hold onto that curiosity for long, before delving in to find out who and what these people are all about. So did curiosity kill this kitty after getting her paws on Kids of 88's debut album, Sugarpills?
Read More...
View All Articles By amandashootsbands

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem