9 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mama Tilly - Silhouettes and Footsteps EP Review

22 Jul 2010 // A review by Dilemma

Track 1 – Screaming Smiley

This track begins with a reminiscent 70’s surfer style guitar lick that carries through the song giving it a cool vibe. It fills out with powerful lyrics and raw vocals making the track very musician driven. As the song ends, there is an infusion of meaty drums and a haunting guitar solo that makes the tone of the track more physical.

Track 2 – Poker has the Luck

The second track continues to enforce Mama Tilly’s musician centered style with drums, guitar and vocals being very prominent. A very fast paced track with slower firm vocals and lyrics.

Track 3 – Silhouettes and Footsteps

The third song of the EP and title track is definitely worth of its status, combining slow expressive lyrics and a similarly paced beat that entwine perfectly through out the track. “Silhouettes on my bedroom wall drifting away and the footsteps fall,” beautiful lyrics that emote the pain of someone leaving, backed by a stunning rhythm guitar that builds the mood with its flawless timing.

Track 4 – Upon the Wing.

The final track transforms the musical style slightly to more of a New Orleans Blues feel completing a real musician driven EP. The powerful music compliments the soulful blues style of lyrics and vocals in a very powerful but feminine.

 

About Mama Tilly

Our Vision:
"To use our colourful quirkiness & social conscience to create music that's unpredictable and brings soul to the world"
Mama Tilly is sophistication and wild with two fingers up to conformity, doing away with clichés and about to make their mark on the Wellington music scene.
After a recent change in line up, the band now consists of original members Georgina Swan-Hay (Drums) and Lisa Tagaloa (Bass, vocals) who studied together at Whitireia Music School. Singer/songwriter Mahinarangi Maika (Vocals), New Zealand School of Music graduate Ila Scott (Keys, vocals) and newest member Mitch Harty (guitar) consolidate the synergy of Mama Tilly.
Expanding on the influences and cultural flavours of each individual, good luck trying to pigeonhole Mama Tilly into one set style. Fusing lush vocal harmonies with soundscapes ranging from tender blues and raucous punk to swinging jazz and reggae grooves; “Music is the soul of what we do and the reason we connected. We create by feel, not to fit into the confines of any given genre.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mama Tilly

Releases

Silhouettes and Footsteps
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Dilemma

Janine and the Mixtape - EP Review: XX
22 Jun 2015 // by Dilemma
2013 was a big year, Lorde released her first EP but she wasn’t our only Singer/Songwriter that got international acclaim that year, there was also Janine Foster otherwise known as Janine and The Mixtape. Described as an electrifying performer that has developed her own unique combination of pop, indie, R&B, and hip hop.
Read More...
Tali - Album Review: Wolves
28 May 2015 // by Dilemma
Tali AKA Natalia Sheppard is pretty impressive, she paired up with Roni Size to release Lyric on my Lip which smashed the charts in 2002, became the first female MC to release an album in 2004 over 10 years ago. She has won the Best Female DNB MC award a few times (3) and has just released her new album Wolves, which she describes as “electronic soul and gangsta jazz"!
Read More...
Khemikal - Justice EP Review
06 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Silos feat. Nel Amore have released their debut EP Justice, 5 tracks with thumping base lines, some repetitive hooks and a brit-chick that raps and sings.
Read More...
Emily Edrosa EP Review
05 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Emily Edrosa is Emily Littler, member of Street Chant – an Auckland trio that has played since 2007 and won the inaugural Critics Choice at the 2010 NZ Music Awards. Emily however, has been putting out some new solo stuff as Emily Edrosa, which is the second effort after Body/Christ released in 2013.
Read More...
PNC - The Codes Album Review
24 Jul 2014 // by Dilemma
PNC AKA Sam Hansen released his fifth album less than a month ago and it’s already smashing sales and tearing up the NZ charts. The album titled The Codes is our newest urban success and it seems that PNC has found his stride with his latest offering.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - Save My Soul EP Review
16 May 2014 // by Dilemma
New from Jayson Norris is the Save My Soul EP as part of NZ Music Month. If you are a fan of Kora style rock or Tiki Taane melodies then you will love this five-song EP, cleverly incorporating roots and the groove of mainstream guitar rock’n’soul to blur genres.
Read More...
Estère - Estere Album Review
10 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Released as a free download via Bandcamp the debut EP from Wellington singer/songwriter/beatmaker/producer Estere is definitely unique in the NZ music scene. Self-described as “just a girl with an MPC” Estere works her equipment and the product is individualistic, raw and worthy of a listen this NZ Music Month.
Read More...
Ill Semantics - You Got It Feat. Scribe and K.One Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
The Ill Semantic’s are back for 2014 and while it's been over 20 years since they formed they still have the ability to make really good, current hip hop music. Ill Semantics are getting ready to drop their third album and have delivered the first single titled You Got It feat.
Read More...
View All Articles By Dilemma

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem