1 Apr 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bulletproof - Soundtrack To Forever album review

28 Jun 2010 // A review by JohnS

Every now and then I receive a album that brings out the underground junkie I used to be and with New Zealand having such a mainstream force it is hard not to get caught up in the latest charts. Luckily the third release form Bulletproof reminds me that underground dance music is heading into mainstream and having a stronger following every week.

Jay Bulletproof’s latest album, 'Soundtrack To Forever' is a journey through 2009 told through Dubstep, Which is being seen more and more in the albums of today. Moulded into this unique album showcasing his own talent as well as tracks full of top Aotearoa talent, Tiki Taane, Boh Runga, Isaac Aesili, Deva Mahal, PNC, David Dallas, Milon Williams and Evan Kiljoy. 

Also featuring are New Zealand heavyweights Optimus Gryme and Truth, as well as UK dance group Spektrum, giving this album a diverse array of sounds in a complete array of flavours that even Mr Whippy couldn’t offer.

This is one album that will awaken you mind with free flowing tracks that will grow on you as you lose yourself into another world. I don’t have a favourite track to point out as they all reach out to me in different ways but I will say that it’ll do this to you as well, experience it for yourself, album is out now
Soundtrack To Forever
View Track Listing
 

About Bulletproof

The Host of George FM Nights, Bass Music Producer and DJ, 20 years into the electronica game, and still, the New Zealand based DJ/Producer known as Bulletproof remains as inspired and passionate about dance music as he was two decades ago.

Hailed the pioneer of New Zealand Electronic Music Production, It's fair to say Jay Bulletproof has been at the forefront of the movement in New Zealand since day dot.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bulletproof

Releases

#Listen
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Dub Me Crazy
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Soundtrack To Forever
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Dark Times - Desperate Measures
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Shake The Foundations
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem