15 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pistol Youth - My Own Private Amsterdam Album Review

14 Jun 2010 // A review by amandashootsbands

Words by Amanda Ratcliffe

Starting a new rock group while on tour with your current band isn’t something that you’d expect from a New Zealand outfit.  But that’s exactly what Steriogram’s singer and guitarist, Bradley Hanan Carter decided to do back in 2007.  He chose three friends from established bands around the world to record a six track EP titled 'Smiling Can Backfire'.  Each member, being in a different country meant recording across the internet - which Carter explains, “its been sorta’ like having four long distance relationships at once…”.

The EP was a success across the board, so it was time for the members to finally meet each other.  They were flown to Los Angeles in early 2009 where they wrote and recorded material for their debut album, 'My Own Private Amsterdam'. Their earlier music was likened to US popsters Weezer, but with time, they’ve developed a sound that is truly unique to them. It’s more refined which is undoubtedly the result of their being in the same country for most of the recordings.

The first single to be released off the album, 'Frankfurt' is a definite standout on the disc, which proves that simplicity is always a winner.  The track featured on Off The Record on popular radio station, The Rock over NZ Music Month, gaining the band more recognition and fans along the way.  The intro to 'Beautiful' boasts catchy – and again, simple drum beats to perk up the ears of listeners before getting into a slightly rockier sound, previously unexplored.

Fans of the group’s debut EP will be delighted to see that 'When I Go Out' made it to the final cut - and a little FYI for you - the video for this track documents the band’s first meeting and working together on recording the album.  It’s pop-rock at it’s finest, as is 'Happy Pills', which has a familiarity to it that makes me wonder if this will be their next radio hit?  You’ll hear hints of Steriogram in songs like 'Symphony Brother' and 'In My Eyes', which is comforting to know that Mr Carter is still the same man with the same style.

If you’re into finger picking, 'Fragile' shares that enticing simplicity that is all too beautiful, mixed with strong vocals and backed with pain. Slowly is much rockier and comes as a bit of a shock after such a controlled track prior.  I don’t think I would have put this one in this place, but maybe it was their intention to ‘wake people up’?  Last song on the album, 'Central Park' is charming and will leave you wondering what’s next for the band.  Apparently a NZ tour is on the cards.  Watch this space, and while you’re watching, listen to 'My Own Private Amsterdam'.

My Own Private Amsterdam
View Track Listing
 

About Pistol Youth

Pistol Youth started as an experiment throughout 2007.

A six track EP was then recorded across the internet without the band members actually meeting.

The EP experiment seemed to work so well that the band all flew to Los Angeles in January 2008 to meet, write and record material for the upcoming full length album.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pistol Youth

Releases

My Own Private Amsterdam
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Every Eight Weeks
Year: 2009
Type: EP
Smiling Can Backfire
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By amandashootsbands

Parachute 2014 Highlights
29 Jan 2014 // by amandashootsbands
Words by Amanda Ratcliffe - AKA amandashootsbands Straight from the mouth of Mr. Mark de Jong himself, I learned that this was the 24th Parachute Music Festival, and it is growing larger every year it’s held at the Mystery Creek venue in Hamilton.
Read More...
Parachute 2013 Review!!!
30 Jan 2013 // by amandashootsbands
Today’s review is brought to you by the letter F, and the number 7.  The F word...
Read More...
The top ten cool things about Saturday at Parachute 2012
02 Feb 2012 // by amandashootsbands
1. I’ve been to a number of Midnight Youth shows over the past few years, so it was rather lovely to sit and enjoy a few snippets from the front-man himself, Jeremy Redmore at Noise.
Read More...
A Day At Parachute 2011
30 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Last week I covered Big Day Out starting off mentioning that I’d been to seven of the Auckland events in seven years, which seemed to go down quite well with readers.  So for Parachute this year, I’m going to do the same, but different because Parachute will always be a little different to the rest of the festivals here in New Zealand.
Read More...
Big Day Out 2011
25 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Big Day Out 2011 was my seventh in seven years, and if you know a thing or two about numbers and their spiritual meaning, this one is particularly magical.  I can’t confirm such beliefs, as my seventh experience definitely had its share of crappy moments, but don’t cry pussycat – there were good times too.
Read More...
Steriogram - Taping The Radio | Album Review
25 Nov 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Oh dear...it seems I’m showing my age when I say this, but I remember when Steriogram first hit the scene eleven years ago now.
Read More...
Vodafone NZ Music Awards 2010
14 Oct 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Very much the fan of a pretty frock, I was in heaven at the 45th New Zealand Music Awards last Thursday evening at the Vector Arena.  The red carpet was filled with so many beautiful people that it was hard to know where to look, let alone who to shoot.
Read More...
Kids Of 88 - Sugarpills | Album Review
26 Sep 2010 // by amandashootsbands
When a band describes their music as 'a cross between a late 80s police drama intro theme and a sophisticated super hussy', it's pretty much impossible to hold onto that curiosity for long, before delving in to find out who and what these people are all about. So did curiosity kill this kitty after getting her paws on Kids of 88's debut album, Sugarpills?
Read More...
View All Articles By amandashootsbands

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem