13 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Aum - Happiness EP review

23 Mar 2010 // A review by JohnS

Hamilton electronic act AUM have just released a 6 track EP leading you into a journey of ambient conciseness, reminiscent of a relaxed Sunday morning sipping a coffee with six mates discussing what went wrong the previous night.

Starting off with Sombre Dreams to introduce the Downbeat and Ambient sentiment, setting you up for the following four tracks. Next tune to peel off is Happiness, which just keeps building into a floating melodic hallucination of a change in the seasons leading into the third track, Harmony. This was my person pick on the EP as it just kept you guessing on what they were going to add next into the mix.

Snakes and Ladders was a close second me but did not hold enough to keep my appetite, my son however did tell me that the disc was skipping and I should really clean it, god bless those 4 year olds.

The final track on had me at a complete loss with Four Lanes, which was a track encased in random piano keying with a distorted speech from a guru?? Yeah, intriguing was my thoughts to.

This EP had a totally different direction to their last album Aletheia but you still feel the talent behind the music, I am looking forward to more from these boys in the future.

 

About Aum

Aum consists of Jeremy Graham and Darryl Turner, two budding local producers from Hamilton, New Zealand who have been making and playing tunes together since the start of 2008. The Aum sound ranges from Dub and Ambient, to Dubstep and Drum & Bass , entirely composed, performed and produced by the two. This same ethos is carried over into Aums live performances where their original tracks are cut up, re-mixed and re-arranged to create a cross genre experience, including live elements, blurring the lines between musical performance and DJ style mixing.

Before they became Aum, the two producers had their roots imbedded in Psychedelic-Dub Rock, playing Guitar and Bass in a band together for a year.

While embarking on seperate musical education endevours both gaining qualifications in Music Production, the two were to meet up again at the beginning of 08 and eventually started producing tunes together and performing live.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Aum

Releases

Happiness
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Aletheia
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem