11 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tali - Lyric On My Lip Album Review

14 Aug 2004 // A review by Shade
MC Tali is an extremly talented and amazing individual who not only has the ability to use her versatile voice in a variety of styles, but she also creates her own catchy, up beat and funky music. She accomplishes so much more than the average vocalist - the music is all hers, as are the lyrics.

From the first track Blazin to the last track High Hopes you can hear the evidence of Roni Size's influence. It is also highly evident that MC Tali has been writing and recording her own music since she was 10. The music is well planned, expressive and is different to anything else that has ever come out of NZ.

This album is so good, I even think that Airport Lounge and Pressure Release could be worthy of being on a Gatecrasher compilation. If you love any style of the dance genre (there's even a few hard hitting tracks that could be considered drum n bass) this album is for you!

However, this album would also appeal to those that love pop music, r&b and even rap.
Lyric On My Lip
View Track Listing
 

About Tali

One of the most prolific MC's to come out of Drum and Bass in the last ten years, Tali's ability to freestyle and sing soulful, positive and intelligent vocals over the mix, has seen her stay top of her game. She has won numerous awards, released two new albums in the last 12 months ("Dark Days, High Nights" - Audioporn Records) and toured the world extensively as both an MC and live act.

Originally from a Dairy Farm in Taranaki, Tali moved to the UK ten years to follow her dreams of becoming a top international MC.

After signing to the legendary Full Cycle Label owned and run by Roni Size, Tali went onto to release the first ever MC album 'Lyric on my Lip' with a UK top 40 single and worldwide tour and selling over 15,000 albums.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tali

Releases

Do It For Yourself
Year: ????
Type: Album
Love & Migration
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Keta
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Wolves
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Of Things To Come...
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Lyric On My Lip
Year: 2004
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Shade

Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written by Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Absentee
29 Mar 2019 // by Shade
The truth can be many things - challenging, concerning, infuriating or even thought-provoking. It may be all of these things, or something completely different.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Lost On You
19 Mar 2019 // by Shade
Some songs are simply infectious. Lost On You by Dead Favours is unquestionably one of those songs - play it enough times, and it will take up permanent residency in your mind.
Read More...
Estère - Single/Video Review: Tokoloshe with Raiza Biza
27 Sep 2018 // by Shade
In Zulu mythology, a Tokoloshe is a dwarf-like water sprite. It is considered a mischievous and evil spirit that is called upon by malevolent people to cause trouble for others.
Read More...
Arrays - Album Review: Wreck
13 Sep 2018 // by Shade
Wreck is the debut album from talented multi-instrumentalist JP Carroll and follows on from his 2017 EP Motives. Being released under JP's solo heavy rock project Arrays, the title Wreck says so much, yet it says so little.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem