21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Salon Kingsadore - 'Mountain Rescue' album review

16 Mar 2010 // A review by Bela

This latest album from Salon Kingsadore is without a doubt, a must have for music lovers. The quirky song titles intrigued me before I even began to listen.  From the opening track 'Jump Cut', this album instantly grabbed my attention and had my toes tapping along. 

The title track 'Mountain Rescue' is slower than some of the others to start, but the jazz vibe  soon captivates, and the saxophone is a great addition that really brings the track to life.

'Floating On The Nile' is rich and haunting, the overlying melody is a tune that will stay with you after the song has finished.  When instruments can be made to sing like this, a vocal track is not missed.

By comparison the track immediately after, 'High Orbit Catastrophe', will open your eyes with a much more alert and zesty style.

Finishing with 'Spear Gun, Scuba Tank, Explosion', this song really sums up what Salon Kingsadore  have to offer. The fresh, smooth sounds have flowed from song to song without once missing a  beat.

I don't have a favourite song. I really don't think that I could be pinned down to choose just one. Its not very often that I like an entire album, but this one is an exception to that rule  There  are songs for all moods, from the moody and dark to the playful and lively. Plus with a total of 13 tracks, there is plenty to enjoy.

There are not many bands out there that I feel could pull off an instrumental album this vibrant and enjoyable. Definitely a band to watch out for, this album is going to be a favourite on my ipod for quite some time to come!

 

About Salon Kingsadore

Salon Kingsadore is an upbeat instrumental combo with points of reference as diverse as surf guitar, Jazz, film soundtracks and psychedelic rock.

In early 2000, the band formed and a couple of years later they released the vaguely spy movie-ish EP Flaming Morricone (2002) which, due to the virtuosity of Ruby Chen, is quite possibly the first Rock recording in NZ to feature the Taiwanese zither.

In 2004 they released their debut album Salon Kingsadore, followed by Hotel Azteca (2006) and Mountain Rescue (2010).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Salon Kingsadore

Releases

Mountain Rescue
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Hotel Azteca
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Salon Kingsadore
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Flaming Morricone!
Year: 2002
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Bela

Ruby Frost - Moonlight EP Review
09 Mar 2011 // by Bela
So this is not normally the type of music I would be drawn to. After listening to this 4 track EP numerous times over, I think that it's time to broaden my horizons.
Read More...
Surf Friends - Confusion Album Review
13 Oct 2010 // by Bela
So with the bright, cartoon album cover of 'Confusion' I wasn't sure what to expect, or even what genre of music this would be. Definitely did not expect not what was delivered.
Read More...
Devils Elbow - Sand On Chrome Album Review
12 Sep 2010 // by Bela
With a name like Devils Elbow, I wasn't too sure what to expect from this album. It left me pleasantly surprised.
Read More...
I Am Giant - City Limits/Neon Sunrise EP Review
05 Jul 2010 // by Bela
I already had a taste for the music of I Am Giant after seeing the promos on C4. This EP definitely lives up to all expectations I had.
Read More...
The Grove St Tapes EP Review
23 May 2010 // by Bela
I had never heard of The Managers before being given this album to review, and now that I've heard it all I can think is "why on earth not??!" These guys by rights should be all over the radio and C4.
Read More...
Green Like Go - self titled EP review
23 Feb 2010 // by Bela
Before you even hear the music, the EP for Green Like Go visually stands out. The recycled cardboard sleeve is distinctive, and the cover art is quirky.
Read More...
Fly My Pretties 'A Story' Encore, Michael Fowler Centre Wellington 5/12/09
15 Dec 2009 // by Bela
If there was ever a show to go to, Fly My Pretties “A Story” is the one for me. It started off a bit slowly, the show was running late so despite being promoted as doors opening at 7.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bela

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem