20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

River - 'Shadows' album review

26 Feb 2010 // A review by CEOMong
I feel bad writing so little about such an awesome album, it’s really well put together, generously heavy, liberal and enthusiastic drumming, and chock full of wicked deep growlie vox. This is a sweet and beasty metal album.

A damned fine album to work to – and I mean that in the best possible way. It’s hard to find an album that lets you concentrate while still allowing awesome little auditory delights to sneak on in to your brain. Inspiring and groovy.

Beautiful rhythms from both the drums and bass, very intricate and deliberate. Real toe-tapping stuff, more than once I spontaneously pulled out the air drums as well!

‘His Dark Demise’ and ‘Implant the Third Eye’ are my favourites; I also got a chuckle from ‘Blood of an Englishman’.

Fee Fi Fo Fum!
CEOMong
 

About River

River is a multi instrumentalist and graphic designer. His debut solo album This Side Up and his second album Decipher were created for people thinking outside of the square.

River's third solo CD Earth Asunder incorporated poetry of dark beauty with gothic overtones and bard like progressions. River took a new musical direction on his fourth full-length album Shadows where he crafted songs of melodic intricacy with a heavier undercurrent. After a hiatus, River has released his fifth solo work entitled Silence Of The Tomb.

River incorporates a medley of various artistic styles into a cross-disciplinary musical expression. His sound is best described as alternative underground and does not lend itself easily to explanation or cross-reference.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for River

Releases

Endless Winter
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Silence Of The Tomb
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Shadows
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Earth Asunder
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Decipher
Year: 2008
Type: Album
This Side Up
Year: 2006
Type: Album

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem