9 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

STRIKE - Strike - Sketches

23 Dec 2009 // A review by JohnS
Something a bit unusual from my normal tastes but the second album entitled Sketches from Strike proved worthy of being added to my collection. Strike currently have 7 members but have also performed as a duo, trio and a quartet.

Percussion is the name of their game with a unbelievable arrangement of drums, cymbals, pipes, a vibraphone, cow bell (you got to give me more of that) and even a car panel thrown in. you won't believe it until you hear it or see it as the live show which is like a musical martial art performed just for you. It'll blow you mind.

"Sketches was recorded like any live Strike show: live in one room, in one take (well nearly...), with no overdubs" quoted co-founder Murray Hickman on the recording of the album.

From the opening track, 'Little Sea Gongs' through to the aptly named 'The End', you are treated to a rare burst of talented percussionists.

Sketches Would be a good album to have in the background at a event but I would definately not expect this to be the ambient music in a elevator or coffee shop.

My Tip: have a listen to 'Drums of Hell' which was commissioned for the Lord of The Rings Two Towers premiere party at Te Papa to understand what you are in for.
 

About STRIKE

Founded in 1993, STRIKE is a high energy drumming group made up of New Zealand’s most outstanding percussionists. STRIKE combines elements of theatre, dance, invention and rhythmic intricacy to create powerful and imaginative productions.

STRIKE is committed to working with New Zealand composers, as well as creating its own works. They are often invited to collaborate with other musicians or performers, from dancers to symphony orchestras, DJs to circus performers.

STRIKE has created is own classical crossover audience, extending their understanding of percussive based music and movement. With its mix of musical influences – Pacific, classical and contemporary – combined with the movement and theatrical presentation STRIKE is unique in its presentation of percussion music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for STRIKE

Releases

Sketches
Year: 2009
Type: Album
New Zealand Percussion
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem