9 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Diesel Phoenix - Diesel Phoenix - 'Here's Something We Prepared Earlier' album review

Diesel Phoenix - Diesel Phoenix - 'Here's Something We Prepared Earlier' album review

05 Dec 2009 // A review by lukefitzmaurice
'Here’s Something We Prepared Earlier' is the new album from Auckland five-piece Diesel Phoenix, a hard hitting record which throws together rock, punk, pop, and even a little bit of metal.

The album opens with the eerie instrumental track 'Willard’s Run', a song which provides a haunting introduction to the rest of the album. From there the band kick things up a notch, with the tempo remaining high until about the halfway point. The tracks range in style from the crunching guitar-driven verses of LPO, to the more pop-rock influenced 'First Kiss'. They tone it down a little with 'Living Room', which reminded me a little of Metallica's 'Nothing Else Matters', but all-in-all the first half is fairly heavy.

The second half of the album, marked by the appropriately titled 'Interlude' is noticeably more restrained. Almost every track starts out slowly, and although some pick up the tempo towards the end, many remain relatively throughout. The noteable exception is 'Just A Kid', which was probably my favourite track on the record.

My general assessment of the album was that it was good, but not great. Diesel Phoenix don’t seem to have quite found their feet as a band, and it felt to me as though they couldn’t quite make up their mind as to the sound they were going for. Also, I felt that at times the haunting vocals of their lead singer didn’t quite fit the music, but perhaps that says more about my taste in vocalists than anything else. That said, I would probably still recommend them for fans of rock and metal bands such as Metallica. There’s potential there, but I don’t think it’s been found quite just yet.
 

About Diesel Phoenix

A message to our fans:

'When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace.’

— Jimi Hendrix

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Diesel Phoenix

Releases

White Lies & Black Hearts
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By lukefitzmaurice

Urbantramper - Urban Tramper - 'Rise & Ride Toward' album review
05 Dec 2009 // by lukefitzmaurice
Ok, I’ll admit, before I listened to this album, I had never really heard of Urban Tramper. Their name rang vague bells in the back of my mind, perhaps I’d heard snippets on the radio or seen a poster in the street somewhere, but if you’d played me one of their older songs I probably wouldn’t have recognised it.
Read More...
Eru Dangerspiel - Great News For The Modern Man album review
21 Aug 2009 // by lukefitzmaurice
With any experiment, there are always going to be some things that work out great, and others that don’t really go down so well. Therefore, with any experimental album, the same is bound to happen.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Iron album review
01 Aug 2009 // by lukefitzmaurice
When I first listened to this album I immediately got the impression of movement. The first track definitely felt like it was driving towards… well… something, I wasn’t quite sure what at that stage.
Read More...
Good Laika - Followed by a Trail of Sparks review
30 Jul 2009 // by lukefitzmaurice
The press release that came with this album read, “When listening to Good Laika’s sophomore album Followed by a Trail of Sparks, you could be forgiven for thinking you’d stumbled across some lost soul’s travel diary.” It was an interesting introduction to an album, so I sat with eager anticipation as I played it through for the first time.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop - Dr Boondigga and the Big BW
11 Jun 2009 // by lukefitzmaurice
I fell in love with this album about five and a half minutes into track six. Up until that point I was reasonably impressed with the album, but I felt like Fat Freddy’s Drop hadn’t quite captured the vibe that made their first album so immensely successful.
Read More...
The Veils - Sun Gangs Reviews
07 May 2009 // by lukefitzmaurice
A word of warning – on the whole, Sun Gangs seems pretty slow. And to be fair, it’s true that the album contains one or two tracks that are indisputably subdued, title track Sun Gangs being one that immediately springs to mind.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Get It Together review
11 Apr 2009 // by lukefitzmaurice
There is something irresistibly funky about this album, and it hits you within seconds of pressing play. The opening track, The Ace of Space, has a kind of Ocean’s Eleven quality to it, and as I listened to the rest of the album I never really shook the feeling of being engrossed within a Las Vegas casino heist.
Read More...
The Mint Chicks - Screens Review
31 Mar 2009 // by lukefitzmaurice
First things first, DO NOT judge this album the first time you listen to it. That’s what I was tempted to do, because in all honesty, after listening to Screens once through I was a little disappointed.
Read More...
View All Articles By lukefitzmaurice

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem