30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cern - Cern - 'Manaia' EP Review

30 Nov 2009 // A review by JohnS
Feeling the bass flow out of my mp3 player is something I love, It’s like my own brand of narcotic flowing though my soul, awaking me and CERN’s new EP 'Manaia' does just that. Drum and Bass fanatics will already know what to expect from a internationally talented DJ.
"The EP is a precursor to my album due early next year, so this is a collection of some older material" as posted recently on Facebook.

Starting off with 'Something Soon', getting the blood flowing with a tune with a European flex throughout. This was a great set up to flow right into 'Kiss the Sky'. No doubt a club favorite hitting hard bass rhythms while keeping the melody fresh and clean, You can hear the work put into this track and picturing the live moment where the crowd are pumped.
'Lucid State', starts to drop a quieter undertow of sound but without losing the hardened edge of what Drum and Bass is all about.

'Manaia' is a beautiful piece which will enrapture your mind, perfect for those kiwi barbies on a Saturday night to keep the mood amped while providing a more background flow. This has to be my more favored track to play at home.

'Godsong' brings out the darker side of the EP, with heavier effects blended to reach out and grab you in the shadows of life, this leads into the final track to enclose you in darkness …

This EP is great for those wanting a handcrafted DnB experience by one of NZ’s premier talents. Catch the act live before it disappears overseas again, I highly recommend PHAT 2010 to be part of the experience.
 

About Cern

A widespread name around the globe already; Cern's production has seen released and forthcoming tracks on many of the scenes leading European record labels including UK's Renegade Hardware, Critical, Cylon, Syndrome Audio as well as New Zealand's own Samurai Music.

Since 2001 Cern have been collectively producing music for the main purpose of having a good time and making use of their creative tendencies. After finishing school both Climate (Jonny) and Omen (Ollie) began work at the then home of underground music in Auckland, Fu Bar. This is where their passion for DJing and production began and they experienced the best of what the world had to offer. After getting recognised for their skills, they soon began to support some of the acts for New Zealand drum and bass pioneers Subtronix and Cyanide Recordings. This is when their attention turned to production, and their skills began to take form.

2006 and 2007 saw collaborations with Bulletproof, Dose, Teknik, Menace, Consequence and Luca, and promotion of both local shows and guests including Noisia, Mayhem, dBridge and Psidream.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cern

Releases

Terminus
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Manaia EP
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem